Hide

Haceby

hide
Hide
Hide
topup

Archives & Libraries

The Library at Grantham will prove useful in your research.

The Library at Sleaford is another good choice for assistance.

topup

Cemeteries

Robert HARVEY has a photograph of the Churchyard on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2018.

topup

Census

  • The parish was in the Colsterworth sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
     
  • In 1891, the parish was reassigned to the new "Grantham South" sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
     
  • In 1931, the parish was reassigned to the Aswarby sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
     
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 619
1851 H.O. 107 / 2102
1861 R.G. 9 / 2347
1871 R.G. 10 / 3354
1891 R.G. 12 / 2582
topup

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saints Margaret & Barbara.
     
  • The church is believed to have been built in the 12th century.
     
  • The church was partially restored in 1890.
     
  • The church was restored again in 1924.
     
  • The church seats only about 60.
     
  • The Diocese of Lincoln declared this church redundant in October, 1973.
     
  • There is a photograph of Sts. Margaret & Barbara Church on the Wendy PARKINSON web site under her "Still more Lincolnshire churches".
     
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of Haceby Parish Church on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2009.
     
  • Rex NEEDLE has a photograph of Haceby Parish Church on Geo-graph, taken in October, 1999.
     
  • It can be hard to get to the church, concelaed behind bushes. Robert HARVEY has a photograph of a path to the church on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2018.
     
  • Here is a photo of St. Margaret's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):
     
image
topup

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1560.
     
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1560 to 1812 and Marriages from 1560 to 1812.
     
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has published several indexes (marriage and burial) for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
     
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
topup

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Colsterworth sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
     
  • In 1891, the parish was reassigned to the new "Grantham South" sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
     
  • In 1931, the parish was reassigned to the Aswarby sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
     
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.
topup

Description & Travel

Haceby is both a small village and a parish which lies 8 miles east of Grantham. The parish covers only about 730 acres.

If you are planning a visit, see:

  • Michael TROLOVE has a photograph of the Village Sign on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2016.
     
  • See our touring page for visitor services.
You can see pictures of Haceby which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Haceby has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

  • Haceby has a medieval past as a village to the east of the church. Richard CROFT has a photograph of the Medieval Village Site on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2009.
     
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of the Arms of Queen Anne (1702-1714) in the church on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2009.
     
  • A Roman tasselated pavement was discovered west of the village in 1818.
topup

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF029360 (Lat/Lon: 52.911584, -0.47127), Haceby which are provided by:

topup

Military Records

For a photograph of the Haceby War Memorial (shared with Newton parish) and the list of names on it, see the Roll of Honour site.

topup

Politics & Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln County and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
     
  • The parish was in the ancient Aveland Wapentake in the North Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
     
  • On April 1st, 1931, the old parish boundaries were abolished and this parish was merged to create the Newton and Haceby Civil Parish.
     
  • For today's district governance, see the North Kesteven District Council.
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Sleaford petty session hearings every Monday.
     
  • There was a charity of £7 (in 1900 and 1913) from the sale of land in Wigtoft for distribution to the poor.
     
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, the parish became part of the Grantham Poor Law Union.
     
  • In 1931, as a reslt of the parish merger, the parish became part of the Sleaford Poor Law Union.
     
topup

Population

Year Inhabitants
1801 48
1841 64
1851 79
1861 66
1871 67
1881 53
1891 73
1901 46
1911 60
1921 51
topup

Schools

  • The children of this parish attended school in nearby Newton parish.
     
  • See our Schools page for more information on researching school records.