Hide

Hackthorne

hide
Hide
topup

Census

  • The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 636
1861 R.G. 9 / 2364
1871 R.G. 10 / 3376
1891 R.G. 12 / 2596
topup

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Michael and All Angels.
  • The original church is gone, but its replacement was rebuilt from many of the same stones in 1849.
  • The church seats 150.
  • A photograph of Saint Michael's church is at the Wendy PARKINSON English Church Photographs site.
  • David HITCHBORNE has a photograph of the church interior at Geo-graph, taken in 2004.
  • Here is a photo of Saint Michael's Church, taken by (and copyright of) Ron COLE.

 

image
topup

Church Records

  • The parish register dates from 1653.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1653 to 1812 and Marriages from 1653 to 1813.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Lawres Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The Wesleyan Methodists built a chapel here before 1900. For information and assistance in researching this chapel, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
topup

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
topup

Description & Travel

Hackthorne is both a village and a parish 7 miles north of the city of Lincoln. Welton parish lies to the south and Spridlington parish to the north. The parish covers about 2,600 acres.

Hackthorne village (also spelled Hackthorn) is the source of a small rivulet which runs east, eventually feeding the River Witham. If you are planning a visit:

  • Take the A15 north out of Lincoln. The turnoff for Hackthorn(e) will be about 6 miles outside of Lincoln.
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Hackthorne which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Hackthorne has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

Manors

  • Hackthorne Hall was built around 1790 in a 100-acre park. It was the residence of the CRACROFT family.
  • There is a photograph of Hackthorn Hall on Geo-graph, taken in 2008.
topup

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK996825 (Lat/Lon: 53.329848, -0.505886), Hackthorne which are provided by:

topup

Military History

  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of the War Memorial on Geo-graph, taken in 2008.
topup

Military Records

David HITCHBORNE has a photograph of the brass plate Roll of Honour inside the church on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2004.

For the list of names on the War Memorial, see the Roll of Honour site.

topup

Names, Geographical

  • The name is often rendered without the trailing E, as in Hackthorn.
topup

Politics & Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were eastablished.
  • The parish was in the eastern division of the ancient Aslacoe Wapentake in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • Today's district governance is provided by the West Lindsey District Council.
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Lincoln (Bail and Close) petty session hearings on the 1st and 3rd Friday of every month.
  • As a result of the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Lincoln Poor Law Union.
topup

Population

Year Inhabitants
1801 218
1831 244
1841 246
1851 258
1871 248
1891 280
1911 237
topup

Schools

  • A school was built here around 1870 and enlarged in 1887 for students of both this parish and nearby Cold Hanworth.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.