Hide

Manthorpe with Little Gonerby

hide
Hide

"MANTHORPE, a township and a chapelry in Grantham parish, Lincoln. The township bears the name of Manthorpe-cum-Little Gonerby; lies 1¼ mile NE of Grantham r. station; is included in Grantham parliamentary borough; and has a post office under Grantham. Real property, £8,102. Pop. in 1851,2,344; in 1861, 2,241. Houses, 496.—The chapelry comprises but a small part of the township, and was constituted in 1849. Rated property, £1,598. Pop., 206. Houses, 53. The property is all in one estate. The living is a vicarage, united with the p. curacy of Londonthorpe, in the diocese of Lincoln. Value, £200. Patron, Earl Brownlow. The church was built in 1848; is in the early decorated English style; and comprises nave, S porch, chancel, and vestry, with tower and spire."

John Marius WILSON's, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72.

Hide
topup

Archives & Libraries

The Library at Grantham will prove useful in your research.

topup

Census

  • The parish was in the Grantham sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
     
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 624
1861 R.G. 9 / 2351 & 2352
1871 R.G. 10 / 3359 & 3360
1881 R.G. 11 / 3232
1891 R.G. 12 / 2585
topup

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint John the Evangelist and was consecrated on 17 August 1848.
     
  • The church is built of stone.
     
  • The church seats 174.
     
  • Here is a photo of St. John's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):
     
image
topup

Church Records

  • Parish registers date from 1849. Any entries from a previous date will be in Grantham.
     
  • The parish registers for Manthorpe have been deposited in the Lincolnshire Archives. They are not available on fiche yet, but the original register can be viewed.
     
  • The LFHS has published several indexes for the Loveden Deanery to make your search easier.
     
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
topup

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Grantham sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
     
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
topup

Description & Travel

This village and parish lies about one mile north of the centre of Grantham. Belton parish is just to the northeast, Great Gonerby parish to the west and Grantham to the south. The parish covers only about 780 acres.

If you are planning a visit:

You can see pictures of Manthorpe with Little Gonerby which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Manthorpe with Little Gonerby has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

topup

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK912378 (Lat/Lon: 52.929959, -0.645368), Manthorpe with Little Gonerby which are provided by:

topup

Politics & Government

  • This place was a Civil Parish from 1894 until 1931.
     
  • The Civil Parish was created from part of Manthorpe cum Little Gonerby in Dec., 1894.
     
  • The parish was in the ancient Loveden Wapentake in the South Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
     
  • The parish is also in the Soke of Grantham.
     
  • For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.
     
  • The ecclesiastical parish was formed in Feb. 1849 out of Grantham civil parish. The civil parish was formed in December 1894.
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Spittlegate (Grantham) petty session hearings.
     
  • As a result of the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Grantham Poor Law Union.
topup

Population

Year Inhabitants
1871 99
1881 243
1891 207
1901 210
1911 177
1921 166
topup

Schools

  • An infant school was built here in 1865. Older children attended school at Grantham.
     
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.