Manthorpe with Little Gonerby

The Library at Grantham will prove useful in your research.

• The parish was in the Grantham sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
   
• Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
   
• The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:

• The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint John the Evangelist and was consecrated on 17 August 1848.
   
• The church is built of stone.
   
• The church seats 174.
   
• Here is a photo of St. John's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):
   

• Parish registers date from 1849. Any entries from a previous date will be in Grantham.
   
• The parish registers for Manthorpe have been deposited in the Lincolnshire Archives. They are not available on fiche yet, but the original register can be viewed.
   
• The LFHS has published several indexes for the Loveden Deanery to make your search easier.
   
• Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

• The parish was in the Grantham sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
   
• Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

This village and parish lies about one mile north of the centre of Grantham. Belton parish is just to the northeast, Great Gonerby parish to the west and Grantham to the south. The parish covers only about 780 acres.

If you are planning a visit:

• Visit the Transport page for Carlberry local bus service schedules.
   
• Visit our touring page for more sources.

• Geograph
• Flickr

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Manthorpe with Little Gonerby to another place.

• Check the history of the Wapentake at the Loveden Wapentake website.

• See our Maps page for additional resources.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK912378 (Lat/Lon: 52.929959, -0.645368), Manthorpe with Little Gonerby which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

• This place was a Civil Parish from 1894 until 1931.
   
• The Civil Parish was created from part of Manthorpe cum Little Gonerby in Dec., 1894.
   
• The parish was in the ancient Loveden Wapentake in the South Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
   
• The parish is also in the Soke of Grantham.
   
• For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.
   
• The ecclesiastical parish was formed in Feb. 1849 out of Grantham civil parish. The civil parish was formed in December 1894.

• Bastardy cases would be heard in the Spittlegate (Grantham) petty session hearings.
   
• As a result of the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Grantham Poor Law Union.

Year	Inhabitants
1871	99
1881	243
1891	207
1901	210
1911	177
1921	166

• An infant school was built here in 1865. Older children attended school at Grantham.
   
• For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.