Hide

North Carlton

hide
Hide
topup

Census

  • The parish was in the Home sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 630
1861 R.G. 9 / 2357
1871 R.G. 10 / 3369
1891 R.G. 12 / 2589
topup

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church was dedicated to Saint Luke.
  • The present church dates from the 15th century.
  • The church was rebuilt in 1773 and again in 1873.
  • The church was restored and reseated in 1897.
  • The church seats 85.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of a floodlit St. Luke's Church on Geo-graph, taken in December, 2007.
  • Here is a photograph of St. Luke's church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

image

topup

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1653.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1653 to 1812 and Marriages from 1653 to 1812.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lawres Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
topup

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Home sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
topup

Description & Travel

This parish and village is about 5 miles north of Lincoln parish and city and just south of Scampton parish.

If you are planning a visit:

  • By car, the village is just west of the B1198 trunk road, north out of Lincoln, and south of the A1500 trunk road east out of Burton on Stow.
  • Check for bus service from the Linconshire Road Car Company of Lincoln.
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of North Carlton which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which North Carlton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

Manors

  • North Carlton Hall is an Elizabethan mansion.
  • The Hall is the ancestral home of the MONSON family.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of North Carlton Hall on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2012.
topup

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK945777 (Lat/Lon: 53.287744, -0.583992), North Carlton which are provided by:

topup

Politics & Government

  • This place was an ancient parish of Lincolnshire and became a Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Lawress Wapentake in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • Today's district governance is provided by the West Lindsey District Council.
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Lincoln (Bail and Close) petty session hearings on the 1st and 3rd Friday of every month.
  • The poor of the parish had the benefit of Monson's almshouses at Burton by Lincoln.
  • As a result of the Poor Law Reform Act of 1834, the parish became part of the Lincoln Poor Law Union.
topup

Population

Year Inhabitants
1801 120
1831 180
1841 178
1851 147
1871 135
1891 162
1911 134
topup

Schools