Hide

Swarby

hide
Hide
Hide
topup

Census

  • The parish was in the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1851H.O. 107 / 2111
1861R.G. 9 / 2343
1871R.G. 10 / 3350
1891R.G. 12 / 2579
topup

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to St. Mary and All Saints.
  • The church was restored in 1886-7.
  • The church seats about 300.
  • There is a photograph of the church on the Wendy PARKINSON English Church Photo web site.
  • Here is a photo of St. Mary's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

 

image
topup

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1813.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Marriages from 1754 to 1812 (no baptisms).
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
topup

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
topup

Description & Travel

Swarby is both a village and parish about 3 miles south of Sleaford. The parish covers just under 1,000 acres, including the hamlet of Crofton, half a mile southeast of the village. Aswarby parish lies to the southeast and Osbournby parish to the south.

If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, the village is just off the A15 between Bourne and Sleaford, just north of Osbournby.
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Swarby which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Swarby has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF047407 (Lat/Lon: 52.953085, -0.443058), Swarby which are provided by:

topup

Politics & Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in county Lincoln and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Aswardhurn Wapentake in the North Kesteven division of the county, parts of Kesteven.
  • Kelly's 1900 Directory of Lincolnshire lists the parish as being in the ancient Aveland Wapentake in the North Kesteven district.
  • On 1 April, 1931, this Civil Parish was abolished and amalgamted into the new Aswarby and Swarby Civil Parish.
  • For today's district governance, see the North Kesteven District Council.
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Sleaford petty session hearings every Monday.
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Sleaford Poor Law Union.
topup

Population

YearInhabitants
1801108
1841200
1871175
1891140
1911127
topup

Schools

  • A Public Elementary School was built here in 1859 to hold up to 70 students.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.