Hide

Swayfield

hide
Hide
Hide
topup

Archives & Libraries

The Library at Bourne has documents for your research.

topup

Cemeteries

Robert HARVEY has a photograph of St. Nicholas' churchyard on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2020.

topup

Census

  • The parish was in the Corby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
     
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1851 H.O. 107 / 2095
1861 R.G. 9 / 2315
1871 R.G. 10 / 3311
1881 R.G. 11 / 3195
1891 R.G. 12 / 2555
topup

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Nicholas.
     
  • The church was originally built in the 12th century.
     
  • The church was rebuilt in 1824 except for the chancel.
     
  • The church nave was rebuilt and enlarged in 1876.
     
  • The church seats 160.
     
  • Here is a photo of St. Nicholas Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):
     
image
topup

Church Records

  • Anglican parish registers exist from 1561, although are only deposited in the county archives for the period 1724 - 1912.
     
  • The Bishop's Transcripts are available via the Family History Library for 1561 - 1840.
     
  • The LFHS has published several indexes (marriage and burial) for the Beltisloe Deanery to make your search easier.
     
  • The Primitive Methodists built a small chapel here.
     
  • For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
     
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
topup

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Corby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
     
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July 1837.
topup

Description & Travel

Swayfield is both a village and parish which lies just north of Castle Bytham parish, 96 miles north of London, 16 miles north of Stamford and 13 miles south-east of Grantham. Swinstead parish lies to the east across the West Glen River. The West Glen River runs along the east boundary of the parish. The parish covers just over 1,530 acres.

If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, the village lies just east of the A1 trunk road and south of the A151 arterial road.
     
  • J. THOMAS has a photograph of the Village Sign on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2012. The sign was erected in 2002, in celebration of the Queen's Golden Jubilee.
     
  • Andrew TATLOW has a photograph of Entering Swayfield from the west on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2008.
     
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Swayfield which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Swayfield has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK991229 (Lat/Lon: 52.794303, -0.531721), Swayfield which are provided by:

topup

Monumental Inscriptions

Robert HARVEY has recorded this monument inscription by photograph on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2020. It is the life of two people: Harold Ernest SHARPE of Little Bytham and his bride Barbara Eleanor BACON of Swayfield.

topup

Names, Geographical

  • The name derives from the Old English Swaethfeld or "open land with swathes (tracks)," and is listed in the 1086 Domesday Book as Suafeld, and in 1206 as Swathefeld.
    [A. D. MILLS, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]
     
  • The name is also found in many old records without the "Y", as in Swafield.
topup

Politics & Government

  • The parish was in the North Division of the ancient Beltisloe Wapentake in the South Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
     
  • Rex NEEDLE provides a photograph of a sunlit Village Hall on Geo-graph, taken in September, 1999. It replaces a corrugated iron hut left over from World War II.
     
  • Robert HARVEY has a photograph of the Village Map on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2019.
     
  • You may contact the Swayfield Parish Council regarding civic or political metters, but they will NOT do family history searches for you.
     
  • For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Bourne petty session hearings on Mondays.
     
  • The Common Lands were enclosed here around 1799.
     
  • Edward MOULTON left land at Donington to generate £2 per year which went to the poor.
     
  • As a result of the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Bourne Poor Law Union.
topup

Population

Year Inhabitants
1801 173
1821 206
1831 260
1841 265
1851 383
1871 255
1881 253
1891 204
1911 186
topup

Schools

  • A Parochial School was built in 1867 and enlarged in 1885 to hold 90 children.
     
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.