Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Swinstead

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Swinstead

topup

Cemeteries

Brian GREEN has a photograph of St. Mary's Churchyard on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2008.

topup

Census

  • The parish was in the Corby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
     
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 622
1851 H.O. 107 / 2095
1861 R.G. 9 / 2315
1871 R.G. 10 / 3311
1891 R.G. 12 / 2555

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Swinstead area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to St. Mary.
     
  • The church is built of stone. It was restored in 1854.
     
  • The church seats 250.
     
  • Tim HEATON has a photograph of the Church of St. Mary on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2006.
     
  • Rex NEEDLE also has a photograph of the parish church at Swinstead on Geo-graph, taken in August, 1999.
     
  • Here is a photo of St. Mary's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):
     

St. Mary's Church
topup

Church Records

  • Anglican parish registers exist from 1565, although are only deposited for the period 1733 - 1934.
     
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Beltisloe Deanery to make your search easier.
     
  • There was a Wesleyan Methodist chapel in the parish. For information and assistance in researching this church, see our non-conformist religions page.
     
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
     
topup

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Corby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
     
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
     
topup

Description and Travel

Swinstead is both a village and parish which lie just east of the A1 trunk road and south of the A151, 2 miles south-east of Corby. The West Glen River runs along the west boundary of the parish. The parish covers about 1,790 acres.

If you are planning a visit:

You can see pictures of Swinstead which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Swinstead to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Swinstead has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Rex NEEDLE has a photograph of The Windmill Inn on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2000.

Richard CROFT has a photograph of the remains of the 14th century Market Cross in Swinstead on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2010.

topup
topup

Military History

  • The Royal Flying Corps established an emergency landing field here in the Great War, but no flight operations were conducted from this field.
     
  • Robert HARVEY has a photograph of St Mary's Church: War Memorial on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2016.
     
  • Robert HARVEY also has a photograph of the Roll of Honour in St. Mary's Church on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2016.
     
topup

Military Records

There is one Commonwealth War Grave listed for the churchyard in the CWGC database:

  1. William PORTER, priv., 14th Btn. Training Reserve, age 18, died 1 Mar. 1917. Son of Ebenezer J. and Alice PORTER of Swinstead.

There are the names on St. Mary's church memorial:

  1. Corp. Alfred ELLIS
  2. Lne. Corp. John Henry KING
  3. Lne. Corp. Henry OSBORN
  4. Pte. Edward CHAPMAN
  5. Pte. Edward FOWLER
  6. Pte. Alfred KETTLE
  7. Pte. Horace William PICK
  8. Pte. William PORTER
  9. Pte. Fred ROSLING

1939 - 1945

  1. Clarence GENTLES
  2. Arthur HOLLAND, RASC
  3. Harold Charles LOUNDS, R.A.
  4. Alfred SENTENCE, Royal Norf. Regt.
topup

Names, Geographical

  • The name derives from the Old English Swin+ham+stede or "homestead where pigs are kept," and is listed in the 1086 Domesday Book as Suinhamstede.
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991].
topup

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in county Lincoln and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
     
  • The parish was in the ancient Beltisloe Wapentake in the South Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
     
  • You can contact the local Parish Council concerning civic or political issues, but they are NOT staffed to assist you with family history searches.
     
  • For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases were heard in the Bourne petty session hearings held on Mondays.
     
  • The Common Lands were enclosed here in July of 1778.
     
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, the parish became part of the Bourne Poor Law Union.
topup

Population

Returns from 1086 are from the Domesday Book. 1991 is an estimate.

Year Inhabitants
1086 185
1801 306
1831 402
1841 451
1871 358
1881 349
1891 343
1901 309
1911 299
1991 246
topup

Schools

  • A Public Elementary School was built here before 1900 to hold 90 children. In 1911, attendance was 60 students.
     
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.