Hide

All Hallows Barking

hide
Hide

"ALLHALLOWS, Barking, the church of, is situated at the east end of Tower-street, and the corner of Seething-lane. It receives its name as having been dedicated to all the Saints, formerly called All-Hallows, and from being before the Reformation a vicarage in the gift of the Abbess and Convent of Barking, in Essex. But on the dissolution of the monasteries the advowson was given to the Archbishop of Canterbury. It escaped the fire in 1666, and is of considerable extent, being one hundred and eighty feet long, sixty-seven broad and thirty-five high; it has a plain bell tower, with a well proportioned turret, about eighty feet in height from the ground. This church is of considerable antiquity, as appears from the circumstance of Richard the First having founded and endowed a chapel within its walls. Its present vicar is ihe Rev. S. J. Knight, who was instituted in 1783." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

Hide

This parish - no. 91 in the above map - is located in Tower Ward.
The church was damaged in 1666, rebuilt in the 17thC, destroyed 1940, rebuilt 1948-1957.

Hide
topup

Archives & Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for All Hallows Barking.

topup

Church History

The modern name of this parish is All Hallows by the Tower and All Hallows Barking by the Tower [according to LDS FamilySearch], hence the All Hallows by the Tower church website.

The "History" and "Visit" sections on the church website provide extensive information on the church's history..

The Lost City of London website has extensive material on the church.

Maskell, Joseph. All Hallows Barking ... London : A brief history. London : Parr, (c1888) 32pp.
Redstone, Lilian Jane. The Parish of All Hallows Barking, AMS Press (1971).
topup

Church Records

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for All Hallows Barking [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for All Hallows Barking parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

topup

Description & Travel

Wikipedia page on All Hallows Barking.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on All Hallows Barking.

You can see pictures of All Hallows Barking which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which All Hallows Barking has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of All Hallows Barking parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land & Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of All Hallows Barking - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup

Maps

1898 map of Allhallows Barking - illustration of the location covered, and of archive(s) holding a copy, provided by the Catalogue of British Town Maps.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TQ334807 (Lat/Lon: 51.509164, -0.07957), All Hallows Barking which are provided by:

topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the All Hallows Barking district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of All Hallows Barking, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for All Hallows Bread-street parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.