Hide

All Hallows Bread-street

hide
Hide

"ALLHALLOWS, Bread-street, the church of, is situated at the corner of Bread-street and Watling-street. . . It was originally a rectory of very ancient foundation, under the patronage of the Prior and Canons of Christ Church, Cambridge, but since the reformation it was conveyed to the Archbishops of Canterbury, of which see, it is one of thirteen peculiars within the city. The old church was destroyed by the great fire in 1666. and the present edifice was erected from the designs of Sir Christopher Wren, as a church for the united parishes of St. Allhallows, Bread-street, and St. John the Evangelist, the old church of which stood at the north-east corner of Friday-street and Watling-street. . . Its present rector is the Rev. G.T. Andrews, one of the six preachers at Canterbury, who was instituted in 1816."[James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

Hide

This parish - no. 69 in the above map - is located in Bread Street Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666, rebuilt by Wren, demolished 1876.
All Hallows Bread Street united with St John the Evangelist in 1670.
It was later united with St Mary le Bow 1876.

Hide
topup

Archives & Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for All Hallows Bread-street.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for All Hallows Bread-street parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for All Hallows Bread Street with St John the Evangelist [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

Bannerman, W. Bruce (ed.). The Registers of All Hallows, Bread Street, and of St. John the Evangelist, Friday Street, London. The Harleian Society (1913) 380pp. [Full text]
topup

Description & Travel

Wikipedia page on All Hallows Bread-street.

You can see pictures of All Hallows Bread-street which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which All Hallows Bread-street has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of All Hallows Bread-street parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land & Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of All Hallows Bread-street - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup

Maps

1898 map of Allhallows Barking - illustration of the location covered, and of archive(s) holding a copy, provided by the Catalogue of British Town Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TQ323811 (Lat/Lon: 51.513428, -0.094639), All Hallows Bread-street which are provided by:

topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the All Hallows Bread and All Hallows Bread Street districts.

topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

A report on the parish workhouse is given in City of London Parish Workhouses

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for All Hallows Bread-street parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.