Hide

All Hallows Honey-lane

hide
Hide

"ALLHALLOWS, Honey Lane, a small church-yard, upon which stood, before the fire of London, the small church of the above name. Being a very small parish it was united by act of parliament to that of St. Mary-le-Bow in Cheapside. It is a rectory, the adowson of which is in the Grocer's Company, which since its union with the above-named parish, and that of St. Pancras, Soper-Lane, present alternately with the Archbishop of Canterbury. Honey-lane Market, small as it is, occupies the site of two ancient parish churches; the one at the head of this article, and that of St. Mary Magdalen, Milk-street, which was also destroyed by the great fire in 1666." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

Hide

This parish - no. 42 in the above map - is located in Cheap Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666 and not rebuilt.
The parish was later united with St Mary le Bow 1670.

Hide
topup

Archives & Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for All Hallows Honey-lane.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for All Hallows Honey-lane parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for St Mary le Bow and St Pancras Soper Lane with All Hallows Honey Lane [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

The School of Advanced Study, University of London has uploaded abstracts of the following records, which are available for free online: All Hallows Honey Lane Churchwarden Accounts 1672, Churchwarden Lists 1563 to 1593, and Churchwardens 1631 to 1659.

Bannerman, W. Bruce. The Registers of St. Mary Le Bowe, Cheapside, All Hallows, Honey Lane, and of St. Pancras, Soper Lane, London , Vol. 45, Harleian Society Vol. 45 (1915) 260pp. [Full text]
topup

Description & Travel

Wikipedia page on All Hallows Honey-lane.

You can see pictures of All Hallows Honey-lane which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Keene, D.J. and Harding, Vanessa. Historical Gazetteer of London Before the Great Fire Cheapside; Parishes of All Hallows Honey Lane, St Martin Pomary, St Mary Le Bow, St Mary Colechurch and St Pancras Soper Lane, Centre for Metropolitan History, London (1987) [Full text - British History Online]
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which All Hallows Honey-lane has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of All Hallows Honey-lane parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

Honey Lane - well-illustrated historical account from the London Details website.

topup

Land & Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of All Hallows Honey-lane - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

All Hallows Honey Lane: Tithe assessments for 1638 and 1681.

topup

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TQ324812 (Lat/Lon: 51.514233, -0.093387), All Hallows Honey-lane which are provided by:

topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the All Hallows Honey Lane district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) All Hallows Honey-lane, and (ii) St Mary Le Bow And St Pancras Soper Lane With All Hallows Honey Lane, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for All Hallows Honey-lane parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.