Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Barnard's Inn (ex. par.)

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Barnard's Inn (ex. par.)

"BARNARD'S, or BERNARD'S-INN, Holborn is situated on the south side of Holborn, westward of Fetter-lane, and near Dyer's-buildings. It was anciently called Mackworth's-inn having been the residence of Dr. John Mackworth, who was dean of Lincoln in the reign of Henry VI.; but being afterwards in possession of a gentleman of the name of Barnard, it received his name. It was given to the society by Dr. Mackworth's executors in 1454. This is one of the inns of the court of Chancery, and consists of a principal and three ancients, besides other members, who are compelled to be in common a fortnight in two terms, and ten days in the other two." [J. Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

Bernard's Inn is an extra-parochial parish, in the city Without the Walls.
It is located in Farringdon Without Ward.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for Barnard's Inn.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Barnard's Inn (ex. par.) area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for Barnard's Inn (ex. par.) are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on Barnard's Inn.

You can see pictures of Barnard's Inn (ex. par.) which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Barnard's Inn (ex. par.) to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Barnard's Inn (ex. par.) has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Barnard's Inn Hall: Rare Survivor Of The Great Fire And Blitz, from LondonHist.com.

Our History, from the Gresham College website.

Cunningham, Timothy. The history and antiquities of the four Inns of Court; namely, the Inner Temple, Middle Temple, Lincoln's Inn, and Gray's Inn; and of the nine Inns of Chancery; to wit, Clifford's Inn, Clement's Inn, Lion's Inn, New Inn, Strand Inn, Furnival's Inn, Thavies Inn, Staple Inn, and Barnard's Inn; also of Serjeant's Inn in Fleet-Street and Chancery-Lane, and Scroop's Inn . . . London, Printed for G. Kearsly (1780) 251 pp. [Full text]
topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of Barnard's Inn (ex. par.) - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the Barnards Inn district.

Brooks, Christopher W. The Admission Registers of Barnard's Inn 1620-1869. London: Selden Society (1995) 167pp.
topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for Barnard's Inn parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.