St Bartholomew the Great
"ST. BARTHOLOMEW THE GREAT, the church of, is situated on the north-east side of Smithfield, and at the north end of Duke-street. It escaped the fire in 1666, and is a large plain church of Saxon and Norman architecture . . . The present church is in nearly the same state as it stood in the reign of Edward VI.; but the recent fire in May, 1830, has opened to view many of the beautiful and curious architectural antiquities which had been concealed by mean buildings. . . The patronage of this church, which, in all probability, was anciently in the prior and canons of St Bartholomew is now in private hands. This parish claims an exemption from the necessity of being free of the city to carry on retail trades within its boundaries. The present rector is the Rev. John Abbiss, who was instituted by the late William Phillips, Esq., of Cavendish-square, its " [J. Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]
This parish is located in Farringdon Without Ward.
First established as a priory in 1123.
London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Bartholomew the Great.
Brief history, from medieval-london.blogspot
St Bartholomew's Gatehouse, from Historic UK.
St.Bartholomew's: hospital, museum, church, art gallery and film set, from London-In-Sight Blog. [Lavishly illustrated]
The Weeping Monument of Edward Cooke - well-illustrated historical account from the London Details website.
Moore, Norman. The church of St. Bartholomew the Great, West Smithfield. Its foundation, present condition, and funeral monuments. [West Smithfield] W.H. & L. Collingridge (1892) 72 pp. [Full text]
Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Bartholomew the Great are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.
Webb, E. A. The Records of St. Bartholomew's Priory and St. Bartholomew the Great, West Smithfield: Volume 2 (Oxford, 1921), British History Online [Full text].
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Bartholomew the Great to another place.
You can see the administrative areas in which St Bartholomew the Great has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
Summary history of St Bartholomew the Great parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.
Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Bartholomew the Great - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TQ321815 (Lat/Lon: 51.516924, -0.097116), St Bartholomew the Great which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Bartholomew Great district.
Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Bartholomew the Great parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.