Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Bartholomew the Less

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Bartholomew the Less

"ST. BARTHOLOMEW THE LESS, the church of, is situated within the principal gate of Bartholomew's Hospital, on the south-east side of West Smithfield. It was originally a chapel to the hospital, and was founded in the year 1102; but at the dissolution of the priory, it was converted into a parish church for the inhabitants of the precinct of the hospital. It is a vicarage, in the gift of the Lord Mayor, Aldermen, and Common Council of the City, as governors of the hospital. The church is an old fabric, but was tastefully and substantially repaired, and the interior rebuilt in 1823, by Philip Hardwick, Esq., the surveyor to the hospitaL The present vicar is the Rev. Samuel Wix, who was instituted by the governors in 1808." [J. Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish is located in Farringdon Without Ward.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Bartholomew the Less.

St Bartholomew's Hospital Archives.

topup
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Bartholomew the Less are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Bartholomew the Less.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Bartholomew the Less.

You can see pictures of St Bartholomew the Less which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Bartholomew the Less to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Bartholomew the Less has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Bartholomew the Less parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

St.Bartholomew's: hospital, museum, church, art gallery and film set, from London-In-Sight Blog. [Lavishly illustrated]

The History of Barts: The Royal and Ancient Hospital of St Bartholomew, by The Friends of the Great Hall & Archive of St Bartholomew's Hospital - a well-illustrated detailed account, including a large number of biographical notes.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Bartholomew the Less - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Bartholomew Less district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of St Bartholomew the Less, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Bartholomew the Less parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.