Hide

St Botolph Billingsgate

hide
Hide

"ST. BOTOLPH'S, Billingsgate, the church of, was formerly in Lower Thames-street. The ancient church of this parish having been destroyed by the great fire of 1666 was not rebuilt, but the parish was by act of parliament united to that of St. George, Botolph-lane." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

Hide

This parish - no. 94 in the above map - is located in Billingsgate Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666 and not rebuilt.
The parish was later united with St George Botolph Lane 1670, St Mary at Hill 1901.

Hide
topup

Archives & Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Botolph Billingsgate.

topup

Cemeteries

One Tree Park -"on the site of the Upper Burying Ground of the parish of St Botolph by Billingsgate, with a plaque to this effect set into the paved courtyard".

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Botolph Billingsgate parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for St George Botolph-Lane with St Botolph Billingsgate [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description & Travel

Wikipedia page on St Botolph Billingsgate.

You can see pictures of St Botolph Billingsgate which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Botolph Billingsgate has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Botolph Billingsgate parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

Billingsgate, a paper by Samuel Sheppard, to the Guildhall Historical Association in 1969.

Old Billingsgate Market - well-illustrated historical account from the London Details website.

topup

Land & Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Botolph Billingsgate - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup

Maps

1778 map of St Botolph Billingsgate - illustration of the location covered by the map, and of archive(s) holding a copy, provided by the Catalogue of British Town Maps.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TQ330807 (Lat/Lon: 51.509291, -0.085225), St Botolph Billingsgate which are provided by:

topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Botolph Billingsgate district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Botolph Billingsgate and (ii) St George Botolph-Lane With St Botolph Billingsgate, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Botolph Billingsgate parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.