Hide

St Clement East-Cheap

hide
Hide

"ST. CLEMENT'S EASTCHEAP, The church of, is situated on the east side of St. Clement's-lane, which forms the western extremity of Eastcheap. This church is dedicated to the same saint and pope as the last, and derives its addition from its situation. . . The ancient church was burned down in 1666, and the present erected by Sir Christopher Wren in 1686. It is a neat, plain and appropriate but unpretending building, of the Composite order, with a square tower and a balustrade. The interior is well arranged and neatly pewed, is sixty-four feet in length, forty feet in breadth, and thirty-four in height. It is a rectory, and the living was considerably augmented by having the neighbouring parish of St. Martin Orgar united to it by an act of parliament, after the fire of London. The parish church of St. Martin Orgar stood on the east side of St. Martin's-lane, Cannon-street, and was so designated from its dedication to St. Martin, and from one Ordgarus, who is generally supposed to have been the founder. . . The present rector of these united parishes is the Rev. William Johnson, who was instituted by the Bishop of London in 1820.." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

Hide

This parish - no. 61 in the above map - is located in Candlewick Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666, rebuilt by Wren 1683-7.

Hide
topup

Archives & Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Clement East-Cheap.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Clement East-Cheap parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

French Protestant is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in St Clement Eastcheap with St Martin Orgar [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description & Travel

Wikipedia page on St Clement East-Cheap.

You can see pictures of St Clement East-Cheap which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Clement East-Cheap has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Clement East-Cheap parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land & Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Clement East-Cheap - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup

Maps

Map 0f St Clement Eastcheap (1736), from Wikipedia (Nov. 2016).

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TQ329809 (Lat/Lon: 51.511392, -0.086748), St Clement East-Cheap which are provided by:

topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Clement Eastcheap district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Clement East-Cheap and (ii) St Clement Eastcheap With St Martin Orgar, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Clement East-Cheap parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.