Hide

St Faith the Virgin

hide
Hide

"ST. FAITH, the church of, is situated at the corner of Watling-street and the Old Change. It derives its name from being dedicated to St. Faith, or Sancta Fides, a French church, of the city of Agen, in the province of Aquitain, who suffered martyrdom in the reign of Dioclesian. The parish is united to that of St. Augustin." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

Hide

This parish - no. 30 in the above map - is located in Farringdon Within Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666 and not rebuilt.
The parish was later united with St Augustine Watling Street 1670, St Mary le Bow 1954.

Hide
topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Faith the Virgin.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Faith the Virgin parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for St Augustine with St Faith [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Faith the Virgin.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Faith the Virgin.

You can see pictures of St Faith the Virgin which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Faith the Virgin has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Faith the Virgin parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Faith the Virgin - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TQ320812 (Lat/Lon: 51.514258, -0.099086), St Faith the Virgin which are provided by:

topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Faith Under St and St Faith Under St Pauls districts.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Faith the Virgin and (ii) St Augustine With St Faith, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Faith the Virgin parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.