Hide

St Leonard Eastcheap

hide
Hide

"ST. LEONARD EASTCHEAP, the church of, stood before the fire of London on the east side of Fish-street-hill, near to Eastcheap, and was dedicated to a French saint of that name. Being annexed by act of parliament to the parish of St. Bennett's Gracechurch (see that church), it was not rebuilt." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

Hide

This parish - no. 86 in the above map - is located in Bridge and Bridge Without Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666 and not rebuilt.
The parish was later united with St Benet Gracechurch 1670, Allhallows Lombard Street 1864, St Edmund the King and Martyr 1937.

Hide
topup

Archives & Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Leonard Eastcheap.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Leonard Eastcheap parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Non-Church of England denominations identified in St Benet Gracechurch with St Leonard Eastcheap include: Baptist and Independent/Congregational [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description & Travel

Wikipedia page on St Leonard Eastcheap.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Leonard Eastcheap.

You can see pictures of St Leonard Eastcheap which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Leonard Eastcheap has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Leonard Eastcheap parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks (in preparation).

topup

Land & Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Leonard Eastcheap - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup

Maps

Plans of the Parish of St Leonard Eastcheap in 1829, 1838 and 1886 from COLLAGE, the London Picture Archive.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TQ329808 (Lat/Lon: 51.510787, -0.085783), St Leonard Eastcheap which are provided by:

topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Leonard Eastcheap district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of St Benet Gracechurch With St Leonard Eastcheap, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Leonard Eastcheap parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.