Hide
St Leonard Eastcheap
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
Hide
"ST. LEONARD EASTCHEAP, the church of, stood before the fire of London on the east side of Fish-street-hill, near to Eastcheap, and was dedicated to a French saint of that name. Being annexed by act of parliament to the parish of St. Bennett's Gracechurch (see that church), it was not rebuilt." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]
Hide
This parish - no. 86 in the above map - is located in Bridge and Bridge Without Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666 and not rebuilt.
The parish was later united with St Benet Gracechurch 1670, Allhallows Lombard Street 1864, St Edmund the King and Martyr 1937.
Hide
London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Leonard Eastcheap.
Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Leonard Eastcheap parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.
Non-Church of England denominations identified in St Benet Gracechurch with St Leonard Eastcheap include: Baptist and Independent/Congregational [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].
Wikipedia page on St Leonard Eastcheap.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Leonard Eastcheap to another place.
Summary history of St Leonard Eastcheap parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks (in preparation).
Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Leonard Eastcheap - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TQ329808 (Lat/Lon: 51.510787, -0.085783), St Leonard Eastcheap which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Leonard Eastcheap district.
Clerical career summaries for the parish of St Benet Gracechurch With St Leonard Eastcheap, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.
Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Leonard Eastcheap parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.