Hide

St Magnus the Martyr

hide
Hide

"ST. MAGNUS, the church of, is situated at the north-east corner of Old London-bridge, and derives its name from having heen dedicated to St. Magnus, who suffered martyrdom, under the Emperor Aurelian, in the City of Cæsarea. . . The ancient church was destroyed by the fire of 1666, and when rebuilt, was made the united parish church for this parish, and that of St Margaret New Fish-street, which is annexed to it by act of parliament. The present church was erected by Sir Christopher Wren in 1676, and is an elegant and substantial church, built of stone, and oak timber, covered with lead; with a very handsome lofty steeple . . . The advowson of this church is a rectory, in the archdeaconry, city and diocese oi London, and in the patronage of the bishop of that see. The present rector is the Rev. Thomas Leigh, Rector of Wickam-Bishops, who was instituted in 1808." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

Hide

This parish - no. 96 in the above map - is located in Bridge and Bridge Without Ward.
The church dates from before the Great Fire, was rebuilt by Wren 1671-87.

Hide
topup

Archives & Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Magnus the Martyr.

topup

Church History

History of the Church, from the St Magnus the Martyr website.

St Magnus the Martyr Church - from The Monument: Great Fire of London website.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Magnus the Martyr parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Independent/Congregational is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in St Magnus the Martyr with St Margaret New Fish Street and St Michael Crooked Lane.

topup

Description & Travel

Wikipedia page on St Magnus the Martyr.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Magnus the Martyr.

You can see pictures of St Magnus the Martyr which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Magnus the Martyr has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Magnus the Martyr parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land & Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Magnus the Martyr - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TQ329807 (Lat/Lon: 51.509458, -0.086528), St Magnus the Martyr which are provided by:

topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Magnus Martyr and St Magnus Martyr London districts.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Magnus the Martyr, (ii) St Magnus The Martyr With St Margaret New Fish Street and (iii) St Magnus The Martyr With St Margaret New Fish Street And St Michael Crooked Lane, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Magnus the Martyr parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.