Hide

St Margaret New Fish-street

hide
Hide

The church of St. Margaret, New Fish Street, was not rebuilt after the Great Fire, and as it stood close to the spot where the conflagration commenced, its site was utilized for the erection of the Monument by which that momentous event was commemorated. The rectory of St. Margaret was united with that of St. Magnus. The former had been, before the dissolution of monasteries, in the gift of the abbot and convent of Westminster, and the patron age of the latter had been alternately exercised by the abbot and convent of Westminster and the abbot and convent of Bermondsey. Both advowsons were amongst those given by Queen Mary to the see of London. . . John Alcock held the living of St. Margaret, New Fish Street, from 1461 to 1471, resigning it on his elevation to the see of Rochester. [A.E. Daniell. London City Churches (1896) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

Hide

This parish - no. 95 in the above map - is located in Bridge and Bridge Without Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666 and not rebuilt.
The parish was later united with St Magnus the Martyr 1670.

Hide
topup

Archives & Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Margaret New Fish-street.

topup

Church History

History of St Margaret New Fish Street, from the St Magnus the Martyr website.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Margaret New Fish-street parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Independent/Congregational is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in St Magnus the Martyr with St Margaret New Fish Street and St Michael Crooked Lane [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description & Travel

Wikipedia page on St Margaret New Fish-street.

You can see pictures of St Margaret New Fish-street which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Margaret New Fish-street has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Margaret New Fish-street parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land & Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Margaret New Fish-street - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TQ329808 (Lat/Lon: 51.510126, -0.085917), St Margaret New Fish-street which are provided by:

topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Margaret New Fish district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Margaret New Fish-street and (ii) St Magnus The Martyr With St Margaret New Fish Street, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Margaret New Fish-street parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

.