Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Martin Outwich

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Martin Outwich

"St. MARTIN OUTWICH, the church of, is situated at the south-east corner of Threadneedle-street, in Bishopsgate-street. It obtained its name from being dedicated to the before-mentioned St. Martin, and its addition from William and John de Oteswick, who were anciently its proprietors and patrons. . . The old church, which was built in 1540, was one of the few that escaped the ravages of the fire of London, but it became afterwards so dilapidated by age, and the large fire that consumed much of the adjacent property in 1765, that it was taken down in 1795, and the first stone of the present edifice was laid on the 4th of May 1796. It is a neat small church, elected from the designs of the late Mr. Cockerell, and has a fresco painting of the Ascension, by Rigaud, over the altar. The church is a rectory, in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London, and in the patronage of the Merchant Taylors' Company. The present rector is the Rev. John Joseph Ellis, second master of the Merchant Taylors' School, who was instituted in 1821." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 18 in the above map - is located in Broad Street Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666, rebuilt in 1796, sold 1874.
The parish was later united with St Helen Bishopgate 1873.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Martin Outwich.

topup

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the St Martin Outwich area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Memorial V: The Church of St Martin Outwich, provided by British History Outline - a history, and picture of, the church.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Martin Outwich parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for St Martin Outwich [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

Bannerman, W. Bruce (ed.) The registers of St. Martin Outwich, London, 1670-1873. Harleian Society, Vol. 32 (1905) [Full text].
topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Martin Outwich.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Martin Outwich.

You can see pictures of St Martin Outwich which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Martin Outwich to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Martin Outwich has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Martin Outwich parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Martin Outwich - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the  St Martin Outwich and St Martin Outwich London districts.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of St Martin Outwich, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Martin Outwich parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.