Hide

St Martin Pomroy

hide
Hide

"S\t. MARTIN POMARY, the church of, was formerly situated in Ironmonger-lane, Cheapside, and is supposed, by Stowe, to have received its addition from Pomary, an apple garden, but I am more indined to think from the family of the Pomeroys who might have had some connection with its patronage. The ancient church having been destroyed by the fire of London, the parish was united to that of St. Olive Jewry, by act of parliament." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

Hide

This parish - no. 25 in the above map - is located in Cheap Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666 and not rebuilt.
The parish was later united with St Olave Jewry 1670, St Margaret Lothbury 1886.

Hide
topup

Archives & Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Martin Pomroy.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Martin Pomroy parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Presbyterian is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in St Olave Old Jewry with St Martin Pomeroy [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description & Travel

Wikipedia page on St Martin Pomroy.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Martin Pomroy.

You can see pictures of St Martin Pomroy which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Keene, D.J. and Harding, Vanessa. Historical Gazetteer of London Before the Great Fire Cheapside; Parishes of All Hallows Honey Lane, St Martin Pomary, St Mary Le Bow, St Mary Colechurch and St Pancras Soper Lane, Centre for Metropolitan History, London (1987) [Full text - British History Online]
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Martin Pomroy has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Martin Pomroy parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land & Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Martin Pomroy - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup

Maps

Plan of the Parish of St Martin Pomroy in c1881 from COLLAGE, the London Picture Archive.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TQ325812 (Lat/Lon: 51.514507, -0.091627), St Martin Pomroy which are provided by:

topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Martin Pomroy and St Martin Pomroy London districts.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of St Martin Pomroy and St Olave Old Jewry With St Martin Pomeroy, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Martin Pomroy parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.