Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Mary Colechurch

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Mary Colechurch

"ST. MARY COLECHURCH, the church of, stood in the Poultry, at the south-west corner of the Old Jewry, but suffering the fate of most of the other public buildings in 1666, and not being rebuilt, the parish was united to that of St. Mildred in the Poultry." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 45 in the above map - is located in Cheap Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666 and not rebuilt.
The parish was later united with St Mildred Poultry 1670, St Olave Jewry 1871, St Margaret Lothbury 1886.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Mary Colechurch.

topup

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the St Mary Colechurch area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Milbourn, Thomas. The history of the Church of St. Mildred the Virgin, Poultry, in the city of London, with some particulars of the Church of St. Mary Colechurch, (destroyed in the great fire, A.D. 1666.) London, J. R. Smith, (1872) 132 pp. [Full text]
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Mary Colechurch parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Independent/Congregational is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in St Mildred Poultry with St Mary Colechurch [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

The School of Advanced Study, University of London has uploaded abstracts of the following records, which are available for free online: St Mary Colechurch Assessments 1558 to 1665, St Mary Colechurch Churchwarden Accounts 1622 to 1769, St Mary Colechurch Parish Officers 1613 to 1634, St Mary Colechurch Pew Lists 1613 to 1661 and St Mary Colechurch Vestry Minutes 1638 to 1672.

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Mary Colechurch.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Mary Colechurch.

You can see pictures of St Mary Colechurch which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Keene, D.J. and Harding, Vanessa. Historical Gazetteer of London Before the Great Fire Cheapside; Parishes of All Hallows Honey Lane, St Martin Pomary, St Mary Le Bow, St Mary Colechurch and St Pancras Soper Lane, Centre for Metropolitan History, London (1987) [Full text - British History Online]

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Mary Colechurch to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Mary Colechurch has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Mary Colechurch parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Mary Colechurch - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Mary Colechurch and St Mary Colechurch London districts.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of St Mildred Poultry With St Mary Colechurch, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Mary Colechurch parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.