Hide

St Michael Crooked-lane

hide
Hide

"ST. MICHAEL, Crooked-lane, the church of, is situated on the east side of Miles's-lane, Great Eastcheap, and is so called from its dedication and from its immediate vicinity to Crooked-lane, Old Fish-street. This church is of ancient foundation, for John de Borham appears to have been rector, and the church dedicated to St. Michael, before the year 1304. . . . This church having been destroyed by the fire of London, was rebuilt in 1687 by Sir Christopher Wren. . . This handsome church is under sentence of condemnation for standing in the line of the New London-bridge, and a bill is now (November 1830), pending in parliament to take it down. . . . The church is a rectory, in the city of London, in the province of Canterbury, exempt from archidiaconal jurisdictidn, being a peculiar, and in the patronage of the Archbishop of Canterbury. The present rector is the Rev. W. W. Dakins, D.D., Vicar of Asheldam, who was instituted in 1816." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

Hide

This parish - no. 85 in the above map - is located in Candlewick Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666, rebuilt by Wren, sold 1831, demolished.
The parish was later united with St Magnus the Martyr 1831.

Hide
topup

Archives & Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Michael Crooked-lane.

topup

Biography

Famous Londoners - Sir William Walworth "Twice Lord Mayor of London, Sir William Walworth is best remembered as the man who killed the leader of the Peasant's Revolt, Wat Tyler. . . Following his death in 1386 at his house in Thames Street (later the Fishmonger's Hall), he was buried at the church of St Michael, Crooked Lane, to which he had already made some substantial donations."

topup

Church History

History of St Michael Crooked Lane, from the St Magnus the Martyr website.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Michael Crooked-lane parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the FamilySearch wiki.

Independent/Congregational is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in St Magnus the Martyr with St Margaret New Fish Street and St Michael Crooked Lane.

topup

Description & Travel

Wikipedia page on St Michael Crooked-lane.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Michael Crooked-lane.

You can see pictures of St Michael Crooked-lane which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Michael Crooked-lane has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Michael Crooked-lane parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land & Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Michael Crooked-lane - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TQ328807 (Lat/Lon: 51.510016, -0.087284), St Michael Crooked-lane which are provided by:

topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Michael Crooked and St Michael Crooked Lane districts.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of St Magnus The Martyr With St Margaret New Fish Street And St Michael Crooked Lane, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Michael Crooked-lane parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.