Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Nicholas Olave

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Nicholas Olave

"The PARISH of St. Nicholas OLAVE. On the West Side whereof was the Parish Church of St. Nicholas Olave, a convenient Church. This Church was repaired and beautified in the Year of Our Lord God 1623. The Cost of it 24 l. Since that in the Year 1628, the South Isle, that was like a Cottage before, only tiled, was ceiled, and that decently and gracefully finished. Which, with some Cost bestowed on the Steeple, did arise to the Sum of 22 l. This Church, demolished by the great Fire, remains unbuilt, and the Parish united to St. Nicholas Cole-abbey. [John Stow, John Mottley. A survey of the cities of London and Westminster . . . (1733-35) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 71 in the above map - is located in Queenhithe Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666 and not rebuilt.
The parish was later united with St Nicholas Cole Abbey 1670.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Nicholas Olave.

topup

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the St Nicholas Olave area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Nicholas Olave parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for St Nicholas Cole Abbey with St Nicholas Olave [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Nicholas Olave.

You can see pictures of St Nicholas Olave which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Nicholas Olave to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Nicholas Olave has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Nicholas Olave parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Nicholas Olave - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the  St Nicholas Olave and St Nicholas Olave London districts.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of St Nicholas Olave, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Nicholas Olave parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.