Hide

St Pancras Soper-lane

hide
Hide

"ST. PANCRAS, the church of, stood before the fire of London, on the north side of St. Pancras-lane, Queen-street, Cheapside, but was united by act of parliament to that of St. Mary-le-Bow and not rebuilt." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

Hide

This parish - no. 44 in the above map - is located in Cheap Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666 and not rebuilt.
The parish was later united with St Mary le Bow 1670.

Hide
topup

Archives & Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Pancrass Soper Lane.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Pancras Soper-lane parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for St Mary le Bow and St Pancras Soper Lane with All Hallows Honey Lane [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

Bannerman, W. Bruce. The Registers of St. Mary Le Bowe, Cheapside, All Hallows, Honey Lane, and of St. Pancras, Soper Lane, London , Vol. 45, Harleian Society Vol. 45 (1915) 260pp. [Full text]
topup

Description & Travel

Wikipedia page on St Pancras Soper-lane.

You can see pictures of St Pancras Soper-lane which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Keene, D.J. and Harding, Vanessa. Historical Gazetteer of London Before the Great Fire Cheapside; Parishes of All Hallows Honey Lane, St Martin Pomary, St Mary Le Bow, St Mary Colechurch and St Pancras Soper Lane, Centre for Metropolitan History, London (1987) [Full text - British History Online]
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Pancras Soper-lane has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Historic Soper Lane - by Elizabeth Benns.

Summary history of St Pancras Soper-lane parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land & Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Pancras Soper-lane - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup

Maps

Plan of the Parish of St Pancras Soper Lane in 1791 from COLLAGE, the London Picture Archive.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TQ325811 (Lat/Lon: 51.513301, -0.092215), St Pancras Soper-lane which are provided by:

topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Pancras Soper Lane district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of St Mary Le Bow And St Pancras Soper Lane With All Hallows Honey Lane, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Pancras Soper Lane parish, listed on the FamilySearch wiki.

The School of Advanced Study, University of London has uploaded abstracts of the following records, which are available for free online: - St Pancras Soper Lane Assessments 1628 to 1642.