Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Peter near Pauls Wharf

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Peter near Pauls Wharf

"ST. Peter, Paul's-Wharf, the church of, stood anciently at the south-east corner of St. Peter's-hill in Upper Thames-street, but after its destruction by the fire of London it was united to the parish of St. Bennet, Paul's-wharf, by act of parliament, and the church was not rebuilt." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 34 in the above map - is located in Queenhithe Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666 and not rebuilt.
The parish was later united with St Benet Paul's Wharf 1670, St Nicholas Cole Abbey 1879.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Peter near Pauls Wharf.

topup
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Peter near Pauls Wharf parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for St Benet Paul's Wharf with St Peter Paul's Wharf [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Peter near Pauls Wharf.

You can see pictures of St Peter near Pauls Wharf which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Peter near Pauls Wharf to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Peter near Pauls Wharf has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Peter near Pauls Wharf parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Peter near Pauls Wharf - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Peter near Pauls Wharf and (ii) St Benet Paul's Wharf With St Peter Paul's Wharf, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Peter near Pauls Wharf parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.