Hide

St Sepulchre

hide
Hide

"ST. SEPULCHRE'S, the church of, is situated on Snow-hill, at the corner of Giltspur-street, and is so named in commemoration of the Holy Sepulchre at Jerusalem. This church is supposed to have heen founded about 1100, at which time a particular devotion was paid to the Holy Sepulchre. It was so decayed in the reign of Edward IV. as to require re-building. . . . The church was much damaged by the great fire of 1666, when it was repaired, and the present ugly and inappropriate arched ceiling introduced, which it will be well to remove, and restore to its former beautiful construction whenever another repair be necessary. It is a vicarage, in the city, archdeaconry and diocese of London, and in the patronage of St. John's College, Oxford. The present rector is the Rev. John Natt, who was instituted in 1630." [J. Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

Hide

This parish is located in Farringdon Without Ward.

Hide
topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Sepulchre.

topup

Biography

Biographical account of John Rogers, rector of Holy Trinity the Less and later vicar of St Sepulchre, Bible editor and martyr, who was found guilty of heresy and burnt at the stake in 1555.

topup

Cemeteries

The churchyard is described in an assessment of heritage significance for churchyards in the CIty of London, which also mentions another burial ground in Chick Lane, Smithfield, for the burial of the parish poor.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Sepulchre are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Sepulchre.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Sepulchre.

You can see pictures of St Sepulchre which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Sepulchre has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Sepulchre parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

From a Street Corner in Farringdon, a paper by Dudley S. Game, to the Guildhall Historical Association in 1961.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Sepulchre - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup

Maps

Plan of the Parish of St Sepulchre in 1824 from COLLAGE, the London Picture Archive.

Map of Cow Cross, being St. Sepulcher Parish and the Charter House [18th century], provided by London Ancestor.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TQ318814 (Lat/Lon: 51.516155, -0.101912), St Sepulchre which are provided by:

topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Sepulchre London district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Sepulchre and (ii) St Sepulchre, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law, etc.

St Sepulchre Poor Law Records 1765-1844 were at British Origins - now on Find My Past (subscription).

A report from the committee to whom the petition of the churchwardens, overseers of the poor, and great numbers of the inhabitants of the several parishes of St. Giles in the Fields, the Liberty of Saffron-Hill, Hattongarden, and Ely Rents in the parish of St. Andrew Holbourn; St. Dunstan Stepney, St. Paul Shadwell, St. Anne in Middlesex, St. Sepulchres in Middlesex, St. Luke, Middlesex, and St. James Clerkenwell in the County of Middlesex, whose names are thereunto subscribed on behalf of themselves. London, (1737) 50 pp. [Full text]
topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Sepulchre parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

The Tithes of the Parish of St Sepulchre, Holborn, a paper by Wallis G.G. Hunt, to the Guildhall Historical Association in 1994.