Hide

St Martin in the Fields

hide
Hide
topup

Church Records

The parish registers and other records are held at City of Westminster Archives Centre and listed in detail in their guide. They include Baptisms, 1551-1657, 1660-1965; Confirmations, 1887-1955 (Indexed 1887-1914); Banns, 1699-1725, 1729-1966; Marriages, 1551-1968; Burials, 1551-1853. The parish bought an additional burial ground at Pratt Street, Camden Town in 1803, and registers 1806-1856 are also at the Westminster Archives, and an index has been published by the LWMFHS. There is a rich collection of other records.

Parishes in Westminster Rural Deanery in 1903, and Anglican churches in Westminster in 1890/1905 have some information on this and other churches in this historic parish, including records, whether churches are still open, and where they are.

topup

Description & Travel

The church of St Martin in the Fields is a notable landmark at the Eastern side of Trafalgar Square. It was rebuilt in 1722 by James Gibb.

You can see pictures of St Martin in the Fields which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Martin in the Fields has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TQ301805 (Lat/Lon: 51.508461, -0.12673), St Martin in the Fields which are provided by:

topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

Settlement examinations (1750-1775) have been made available on line by the City of Westminster Archives Centre