Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Bamburgh

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Bamburgh

Primary tabs

"BAMBROUGH is a parish, comprising two chapelries and twenty-two townships, and is about eight miles long by six broad. It occupies the whole breadth of the ward from Budle Bay and Belford, to Beadnel and Ellingham, and comprises an area of 26,234 acres. Its population in 1801, was 2,935; in 1811, 3,114; in 1821, 3,342; in 1831, 3,949; in 1841, 4,237; and in 1851, 4,545 souls." [From History, Topography, and Directory of Northumberland, Whellan, 1855].

"BAMBROUGH, a parish in the ...... county of NORTHUMBERLAND, comprising the chapelries of Beadnell and Lucker, and the townships of Adderstone, Bambrough, Bambrouga- Castle', Bradford, Budle, Burton, Elford, Fleetham, Glororum, Hoppen, Mouson, Newham, Newstead, Outchester, Ratchwood, Shoston, Spindlestone, North Sunderland, Swinhoe, Tuggal, Warrenton, and Warnford,........." [Samuel Lewis Topographical Dictionary of England 1831 © Mel Lockie]

Included in the parish registers is North Sunderland

topup

Bibliography

North Sunderland

  • The North Sunderland Railway , Alan Wright  2012

 

topup

Cemeteries

  • Burial Registers 1886-1954 for North Sunderland Civil Cemetery are available at Northumberland Record Office

topup

Census

  • The 1851 Census Index (microfiche CN28) Belford and Bamburgh (PRO piece HO107/2420 folios 1-250) (Type B) (Book) published by the https://www.ndfhs.org.uk/ may be of value to researchers interested in this parish.
  • Northumberland Record Office hold Census returns 1841 - 1891 and produce a useful User Guide
  • A list of ships and crews in port during the 1881 census provided by Bob Sanders.
topup

Church History

topup

Church Records

topup

Civil Registration

  • This area is within Northumberland North First Registration District.
  • Certificates of birth, death and marriage can be ordered from Northumberland County Council.
     
topup

Description and Travel

  • Bamburgh - Description and Travel - links and information.
  • The North Sunderland Railway operated by North Eastern railway Co opened in 1898 and ran between Chathill and Seahouses the line closed in 1951

You can see pictures of Bamburgh which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Bamburgh to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Bamburgh has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

topup
topup

Military Records

LEST WE FORGET - North Sunderland Cemetery

24 August 1921  William Hunter Greener age 29 Flight Sgt 200501 RAF HM Airship R 308 son of William and Margaret Ann Greener of Newsham Road, Blyth. [grave N18]

topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bamburgh Parish was part of Belford Poor Law Union. The Union Workhouse was located in West Street, Belford. Some records are held at Berwick on Tweed Record Office but these are of limited genealogical value.
  • Peter Higginbotham has provided details, map and photographs of BelfordWorkhouse.