Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Hartburn

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.


Primary tabs

"HARTBURN, a parish partly in the west division of Morpeth Ward, and partly in the east division of Tindale Ward, is a very large district comprising twenty-four townships, whose united area is 25,778 acres; and has for its boundaries the parishes of Bolam, Kirkwhelpington, Meldon, Mitford, Nether Whitton, and Rothbury. Population in 1801, 1,340; in 1811, 1,430; in 1821, 1,474; in 1831, 1,440; in 1841, 1,322; and in 1851, 1,506 souls. The greater portion of this extensive district is fertile, luxuriant, and picturesque, abounding with excellent limestone, while the townships of Harwood and Green Leighton consist principally of bleak moor lands. Coal and lead are found in this parish." [From History, Topography, and Directory of Northumberland, Whellan, 1855].

"HARTBURN, a parish, in the county of NORTHUMBERLAND, comprising the townships, of High Angerton, Low Angerton, Corridge, Hartburn, Hartburn-Grange, Highlaws, Longwitton, North Middleton, South Middleton, Rothley, East Thornton, West Thornton, Todridge, and Whitridge, in the western division of MORPETH ward, and the townships of Cambo, Deanham, Favinley, otherwise Farnlaws, Greenleighton, Hartington, Hartington Hall, Harwood, East Shafto, West Shafto, and Wallington-demesne, in the north-eastern division of TINDALE ward,......." [Samuel Lewis Topographical Dictionary of England 1831 © Mel Lockie]



  • Northumberland County Record Office holds copies of Census Returns 1841 - 1891 and provides a useful User Guide
  • The 1851 Census Index (microfiche CN14, CN21 and CN27) Hartburn, Netherwitton, Longhorsley, Hebron, Mitford and Meldon (PRO piece HO107/2418 folios 1-145) (Type B) (Book) published by the may be of value to researchers interested in this parish.

Church History


Church Records


Civil Registration

  • This area is divided between Northumberland North Second Registration District and Northumberland Central Registration District.
  • Certificates of birth, death and marriage can be ordered from Northumberland County Council.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Hartburn which are provided by:



Ask for a calculation of the distance from Hartburn to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.


Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Hartburn has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.



  • The history of Hartburn Parish is included in:- Hodgson, J., History of Northumberland, Part 2, Volume 1. Newcastle, 1827. (Available on fiche from Ancestral Indexes).

Military Records

Lest we Forget
Cambo Holy Trinity churchyard
28 February 1916   A Buglass, Ordinary Seaman J/49524 RN HMS Victory l, [grave South section]
6 October 1916   G A Buglass L/Cpl C/12020 21st Bn Kings Royal Rifle Corps [grave South Section]



Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Hartburn Parish was part of Morpeth Poor Law Union. The Union Workhouse was located in Newgate Street, Morpeth. Some records are held at Northumberland Record Office but these are of limited genealogical value.
  • Peter Higginbotham has provided details, a map and photograph of Morpeth Workhouse.