Hide

Binham

hide
Hide

"BINHAM, 5 miles S.E. by E. of Wells, and 3 miles N.E. by E. of Walsingham, is a parish and large village, with 502 inhabitants, and 2,241A. 1R. 3P. of land, of which, Thomas Truesdale Clarke, Esq., is principal owner and lord of the manor . . . Binham had a charter from Henry I., for a weekly market on Wednesday, and a fair on the Vigil of St. Mary and three following days; and the latter is still continued on July 26th. This village is noted for the extensive ruins of its once splendid PRIORY, forming a highly interesting and picturesque object, in the vale of the river Stiffkey, and founded by Peter Lord Valoins, a nephew of the Norman Conqueror, and Albreda, his wife, for Benedictine monks . . . Of the once spacious conventual CHURCH, only the nave, with the chief part of the grand western front, and fragments of the transepts, remain. . . The nave is appropriated as the parish church. . . . The Rev. Wm. Upjohn, A.M., of Field-Dalling, is the incumbent." [William White, History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk (1845) - Transcription copyright © Pat Newby]

Hide

Binham is about 7 miles N.E. of Fakenham.
See also Bintry/Bintree.

Hide
topup

Cemeteries

Priory Church of St Mary and the Holy Cross
Transcriptions of memorials in the churchyard - follow link under "History".
Priory Church of St Mary and the Holy Cross
Transcriptions and photographs of gravestones in the churchyard.
Not all gravestones may be included, even when a site is marked as complete, for example when stones are not legible enough to be photographed.

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Cemeteries

topup

Church Directories

  • In 1883 the parish was in the Deanery of Walsingham, in the archdeaconry of Norwich.
    It could have been in a different deanery or archdeaconry both before and after this date.
  • The parish church is dedicated to St Mary and the Holy Cross.
    It was formerly the nave of the much larger priory church.
topup

Church History

Priory Church of St Mary and the Holy Cross
Services, description, history, pictures, plans, documents, parish registers, churchyard memorials, etc.
There is a lot of information here.
Priory Church of St Mary and the Holy Cross
Description and pictures.
Priory Church of St Mary and the Holy Cross
Services, etc.
Gamon, Gilbert P.
Views of the Priory Church of St Mary, at Binham, Norfolk.
[London, Ede, Allom and Townsend, 1900s]
Hundleby, A.R.
The Priory Church of St Mary and the Holy Cross and the Monastic Precinct, Binham.
[Binham, Binham Parochial Church Council, 2004]
topup

Church Records

Parish Register Transcripts
Baptisms, Banns, Marriages and Burials - follow link under "History".
Parish Register Transcripts
Baptisms, Banns, Marriages and Burials.
Archdeacons' Transcripts or Bishop's Transcripts
Baptisms.
Marriages
These are not included in Boyd's Marriage Index or Phillimore's Marriage Registers.

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Church Records

topup

Civil Registration

For the civil registration of births, marriages and deaths between 1837 and 1930 (and for the censuses from 1851 to 1901), Binham was in Walsingham Registration District.

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Civil Registration

topup

Description & Travel

Binham Parish Council
Councillors, meetings, minutes, etc.
Binham Post Mill
Description, history and map.
Binham Tower Mill
Description and history.

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Binham which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

Binham is in North Greenhoe Hundred.

Parish outline and location.
See Parish Map for North Greenhoe Hundred
Description of North Greenhoe Hundred
1845: White's History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk

You can see the administrative areas in which Binham has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Workers Educational Association, Binham Group
Binham: a social survey by the Binham W.E.A. student group, session 1942-43.
[Cambridge, W.E.A., 1943]
topup

Land & Property

Burstall, E.B.
The Pastons and their Manor of Binham.
[Norwich, Norfolk and Norwich Archaeological Society, in "Norfolk Archaeology", vol.30, 1952]
Kelly, Geoffrey Ian
The Chequers Inn Binham: a history.
[Typescript in Norwich Local Studies Library, 1994]

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Land and Property

topup

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF984398 (Lat/Lon: 52.919305, 0.949286), Binham which are provided by:

topup

Military Records

topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

topup

Population

These figures are from the population tables which were produced after the 10-yearly national censuses. The "Families" heading includes families and single occupiers.

Year  Inhabited
Houses
FamiliesPopulation
1801  75  86393
1811  96107408
1821103108438
1831121121493
1841111---502
1851  82---511
Year  Inhabited
Houses
FamiliesPopulation
1861130---512
1871128128470
1881123127478
1891118117466
1901111111441
1911---112446

There may be more people living in detached parts of the parish (if there were any) and, if so, the number may or may not be included in the figures above. It is quite difficult to be sure from the population tables.

1851 Census
"In Binham Parish an apparent decrease of houses arises from an erroneous construction of the term "house," in 1841."
1901 Census
"Including Westgate."
topup

Societies

Binham Local History Group
Membership, talks, etc.