Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Boughton

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Boughton

Primary tabs

"BOUGHTON, a small scattered village, 1½ mile N. of Stoke Ferry, and 6 miles E. by S. of Downham, has in its parish 209 souls, and 1,322A. 2R. 17P. of land, belonging to Sir H.R.P. Bedingfeld, Bart., the lord of the manor, except 30A. of glebe, and about 200A. belonging to Mr. Roper. The CHURCH, (All Saints,) has a square tower and three bells. The chancel was rebuilt 40 years ago. The living is a discharged rectory, valued in the King's Book at £10, and now having a yearly rent of £418 in lieu of tithes. Sir W.J.H.B. Ffolkes is patron, and the Rev. George Hunt, incumbent." [William White, History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk (1845) - Transcription copyright © Pat Newby]

Boughton is about 9 miles southwest of Swaffham.
See also Beighton.

topup
topup
topup

Church Directories

  • In 1883 the parish was in the Deanery of Fincham, in the archdeaconry of Norfolk.
    It could have been in a different deanery or archdeaconry both before and after this date.
  • The parish church is dedicated to All Saints.
topup

Church Records

Farrow, Charles W.
Boughton (Church of England) Parish Registers, 1691-1837; transcribed and indexed.
[Norwich, Norfolk and Norwich Genealogical Society, the parish registers of Norfolk, monograph series: 12, 1986]

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Church Records

topup

Civil Registration

For the civil registration of births, marriages and deaths between 1837 and 1930 (and for the censuses from 1851 to 1901), Boughton was in Downham Registration District.

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Civil Registration

topup

Description and Travel

Wissey Valley Web Pages
Including Wereham, Wretton, West Dereham, Boughton, Stoke Ferry and Whittington in the Wissey Valley in West Norfolk.

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Boughton which are provided by:

topup
topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Boughton to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

Boughton is in Clackclose Hundred.

Parish outline and location.
See Parish Map for Clackclose Hundred
Description of Clackclose Hundred
1845: White's History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk

You can see the administrative areas in which Boughton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Coates, Doris E
The Story of Boughton.
[ISBN 0950687111, Harpsden Press, 1982]
topup

Land and Property

Great Britain. Inclosure Commissioners
Statement of Claims (18): Boughton.
Drawn up in pursuance of the Act of Inclosure, 1801.
[1801]
Great Britain: Statute
Boughton Inclosure Act, 1801.
An act for dividing, allotting, and inclosing the common fields, half year or shack lands, commonable grounds, commons, and waste lands, within the parish of Boughton, in the county of Norfolk.
[1801]

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Land and Property

topup
topup
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

topup