"BOUGHTON, a small scattered village, 1½ mile N. of Stoke Ferry, and 6 miles E. by S. of Downham, has in its parish 209 souls, and 1,322A. 2R. 17P. of land, belonging to Sir H.R.P. Bedingfeld, Bart., the lord of the manor, except 30A. of glebe, and about 200A. belonging to Mr. Roper. The CHURCH, (All Saints,) has a square tower and three bells. The chancel was rebuilt 40 years ago. The living is a discharged rectory, valued in the King's Book at £10, and now having a yearly rent of £418 in lieu of tithes. Sir W.J.H.B. Ffolkes is patron, and the Rev. George Hunt, incumbent." [William White, History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk (1845) - Transcription copyright © Pat Newby]
Boughton is about 9 miles southwest of Swaffham.
See also Beighton.
- In 1883 the parish was in the Deanery of Fincham, in the archdeaconry of Norfolk.
It could have been in a different deanery or archdeaconry both before and after this date.
- The parish church is dedicated to All Saints.
- Farrow, Charles W.
- Boughton (Church of England) Parish Registers, 1691-1837; transcribed and indexed.
[Norwich, Norfolk and Norwich Genealogical Society, the parish registers of Norfolk, monograph series: 12, 1986]
See also Norfolk Parish Links: Church Records
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Boughton to another place.
Boughton is in Clackclose Hundred.
- Parish outline and location.
- See Parish Map for Clackclose Hundred
- Description of Clackclose Hundred
- 1845: White's History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk
You can see the administrative areas in which Boughton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
- Great Britain. Inclosure Commissioners
- Statement of Claims (18): Boughton.
Drawn up in pursuance of the Act of Inclosure, 1801.
- Great Britain: Statute
- Boughton Inclosure Act, 1801.
An act for dividing, allotting, and inclosing the common fields, half year or shack lands, commonable grounds, commons, and waste lands, within the parish of Boughton, in the county of Norfolk.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF700020 (Lat/Lon: 52.589284, 0.507946), Boughton which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)