Norfolk Civil Registration


Civil registration of births, marriages and deaths began in 1837. This was in addition to entries made in parish and nonconformist registers of baptisms, marriages and burials and, for the first time, there was a central record of these events.

The civil registration districts were also used for the 10-yearly national censuses.

For more information, see the Genuki section about Civil Registration in England and Wales.

General Register Office (GRO)

Norfolk Registration Districts

Norfolk was divided into Registration Districts. Over the years some have been abolished and new ones created. The ones currently in existence are shown below, with links to their addresses and contact details.


Cromer (see North Walsham)
Depwade (at Diss)
East Dereham
Great Yarmouth
King's Lynn
North Walsham
Wayland (at Thetford)

See also

  • Norfolk Registration Districts 1837-1974 with Parishes, GRO references, etc.
      The districts were:      Acle, Aylsham, Blofield, Depwade, Docking, Downham, East Dereham, Ely, Erpingham, Fakenham, Flegg, Forehoe, Freebridge Lynn, Great Yarmouth, Guiltcross, Henstead, Hoxne, King's Lynn, Loddon and Clavering, Mitford and Launditch, Mutford, North Walsham, Norwich, Norwich Outer, Smallburgh, St Faiths, Swaffham, Thetford, Tunstead and Happing, Walsingham, Wayland, Wisbech, Yarmouth, and Yarmouth and Flegg.

For other counties, see the complete lists of

Copyright © Pat Newby.
March 2009