Hide

Felbrigg

hide
Hide

"FELBRIGG, a pleasant village, on a declivity, nearly 3 miles S.S.W. of Cromer, has in its parish 133 inhabitants, and 1559A. 2R. 10P. of land, all the property of William Howe Windham, Esq., of FELBRIGG HALL, a large and handsome mansion, on a commanding eminence, in a beautiful and richly wooded park of 600 acres. . . . About ¼ of a mile S.E. of the hall, embowered in the park plantations, and approached by a fine avenue of oak and beech, is the CHURCH, (St. Margaret,) a handsome edifice, containing many monunents to the Felbrigge and Windham families. . . . The rectory, valued in the King's Book at £6. 18s. 4d., and in 1831 at £310, with that of Metton annexed to it, is in the gift of W.H. Windham, Esq., and incumbency of the Rev. Robert Courtenay Windham, A.B. The tithes of Felbrigg were commuted in 1841 for £179 per annum." [William White, History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk (1845) - Transcription copyright © Pat Newby]

Hide

The name may also be spelled Felbrigge.

Hide
topup

Cemeteries

The Monumental Inscriptions in the Hundred of North Erpingham (Walter Rye).
The parishes covered include Felbrigg.
See Trunch
Simpson, Robert James
Brasses in St Margaret's Church, Felbrigg, Norfolk.
[1870s]

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Cemeteries

topup

Census

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Censuses

topup

Church Directories

  • In 1883 the parish was in the Deanery of Repps, in the archdeaconry of Norfolk.
    It could have been in a different deanery or archdeaconry both before and after this date.
  • The parish church is dedicated to St Margaret.
topup

Church History

Church of St Margaret
Description and pictures.
Church of St Margaret
Services, location, etc.
Church of St Margaret
Pictures of the church.
Cremer, Robert
The Church of St Margaret, Felbrigg, with notes on the Church of St Andrew, Metton.
With lists of the rectors of Felbrigg and of Metton.
[North Walsham, Rounce and Wortley, 1980s]
Simpson, Robert James
Illustrations of St Margaret's Church, Felbrigg, Norfolk.
[Roughton, 1875]
topup

Church Records

Archdeacons' Transcripts
Baptisms 1725-1812, Marriages 1731-1811 and Burials 1725-1812.
[Parish Register Transcription Society, Dart Series, 2000?]
Marriages
These are not included in Boyd's Marriage Index or Phillimore's Marriage Registers.
Churchwardens' Rates
Principal property occupiers and the amounts paid.
1801-1802, and 1820-1821.
Churchwardens' Payments, or Disbursements
Payments for church repairs, communion bread and wine, etc.
1801-1802.
Extracts from the parish registers
Extracts from the wills of Richard Locksmith (1740) and Mrs Mary Windham (before March 1752), with the purchase of an annuity by Mr John Windham Bowyer; 15th century inscription to Simon and Margaret Felbrigge; and the numbers of inhabitants, houses, christenings and burials.

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Church Records

topup

Civil Registration

For the civil registration of births, marriages and deaths between 1837 and 1930 (and for the censuses from 1851 to 1901), Felbrigg was in Erpingham Registration District.

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Civil Registration

You can see pictures of Felbrigg which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

Felbrigg is in North Erpingham Hundred.

Parish outline and location.
See Parish Map for North Erpingham Hundred
Description of North Erpingham Hundred
1845: White's History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk

You can see the administrative areas in which Felbrigg has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

Land & Property

Inclosure
See Aylmerton
Griffiths, Elizabeth
The management of two east Norfolk estates in the seventeenth century: Blickling and Felbrigg.
Vol.1: 1596-1654, Vol.2: 1654-1717.
[Norwich, University of East Anglia, 1987]
Griffiths, Elizabeth
William Windham's Green Book, 1673-1688.
Accounts, agriculture, etc at Felbrigg Hall.
[ISBN 0953829847, Norfolk Record Society vol 66, 2002]
Ketton-Cremer, Robert Wyndham
Felbrigg: the story of a house.
[ISBN 0712615024, London, Century, National Trust Classics, 1986]
Maddison, John
Felbrigg Hall, Norfolk.
[ISBN 0707802202, London, National Trust, 1995]
Shaw, Michael
Felbrigg: the story of a house.
[E.P. Publishing, 1974]
Sutcliffe, John Haddon Frowd Holman
Felbrigg Hall, Norfolk.
[London, National Trust Guidebook, 1979]

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Land and Property

topup

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TG202398 (Lat/Lon: 52.910817, 1.273298), Felbrigg which are provided by:

topup

Military Records

Roll of Honour
World Wars 1 and 2.
Extracts from the parish registers
November 1807: One man to be provided for the militia.

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Military Records

topup

Names, Personal

Wyndham
See Norfolk People and Families
and information on this page about Felbrigg Hall.
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

topup

Population

These figures are from the population tables which were produced after the 10-yearly national censuses. The "Families" heading includes families and single occupiers.

Year  Inhabited
Houses
FamiliesPopulation
18013034181
18111932171
18213232165
18311628155
184127--133
185128--126
Year  Inhabited
Houses
FamiliesPopulation
186131--136
18713131152
18813233165
18913232154
19013535186
1911--36181

There may be more people living in detached parts of the parish (if there were any) and, if so, the number may or may not be included in the figures above. It is quite difficult to be sure from the population tables.

1902
"By Local Government Board Order, No. 44,367, which came into operation on 1st October, 1902, part of Felbrigg Civil Parish, containing neither houses nor population, was transferred to Cromer Civil Parish."