Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Norfolk: Hargham

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Norfolk: Hargham

Churchwardens' Names: 1615-1767

In the Hargham parish registers the Churchwardens' are named for most years from 1615-1767. Rectors names are also given for some years.

These names have been extracted from Hargham registers containing Baptisms, Marriages and Burials for the period 1561 to 1812.


[Transcription copyright © Mike Bristow]

Churchwardens' & Rectors etc. of the Parish of Hargham in the County of Norfolk.

Name Position
held.
Year(s) of Office
A
John Adams Churchwarden 1644-45
Thomas Astey? Churchwarden 1638
John Adkins Churchwarden 1629, 1630, 1637, 1644-46
John Atkins Churchwarden 1661-62
B
John Balles Churchwarden 1636
William Balles Churchwarden 1643
Hugh Beales Churchwarden 1619, 1627, 1634
William Beales Churchwarden 1627
John Benn Rector 1647-48
Thomas Betts Churchwarden 1682
Francis Blomefield (see Notes) Rector 1729-30
Thomas Browne/Brown Churchwarden 1748-51
C
Titus Carman Churchwarden 1621
D
Stephen Deynes Churchwarden 1644-46
William Deynes Churchwarden 1618, 1638, 1641
Joseph Doe Churchwarden 1695-96, 1698-1701, 1725, 1733
William Doe Churchwarden 1746
Thomas Dowsnar? Churchwarden 1641
John Dowe Churchwarden 1684
E
Edward English Churchwarden 1618, 1626, 1633, 1639
G
Francis Gall Churchwarden 1615, 1620, 1628, 1640
Henry Gall Churchwarden 1629, 1633, 1639, 1690-91, 1697, 1702-04
John Gall Churchwarden 1693
Thomas Gall Churchwarden 1615
William Gall Churchwarden 1617-18, 1620, 1624, 1631, 1640, 1663
William Gall the Yonger Churchwarden 1635, 1641-42
William Gall the Elder Churchwarden 1636, 1643
William Gall Senior Churchwarden 1636
William Gall Junior Churchwarden 1683, 1687-68
Thomas Garrad Churchwarden 1616, 1622?
Henry Gill Rector 1666-1676
H
Revd John Hare Rector 1730-1769
Gerrard Harrison Rector 1652
Thomas Harword? Churchwarden 1663
George Hicks Churchwarden 1752-67
William Hill Churchwarden 1628, 1640, 1642
Thomas Howse Churchwarden 1661-62
L
Robert Leader Churchwarden 1713-1724
Samuel Leader Rector 1661-62
Revd William Lobb Rector 1769-1804
James Lovell Churchwarden 1625
M
Robert Master Curate 1659-60
Thomas Miller Churchwarden 1618
P
Thomas Pawsey? Churchwarden 1625-26, 1637
James Pawsey? Churchwarden 1633
Richard Pilgrim Churchwarden 1659-60
John Pinner Churchwarden 1659
Henry Pitts Rector 1689-1728
Henry Pretty Rector 1682-1689
R
Richard Ranson Churchwarden 1621, 1630
Adam Rogers Churchwarden 1689
S
William Saller? Churchwarden 1643
William Salter Churchwarden 1692
Charles Slapp Churchwarden 1737-45, 1747
Edward Smith Rector 1638-45
William Stedman Churchwarden 1734-36
James Steel/Steele Churchwarden 1705-12, 1726-1733
Robert Steward Churchwarden 1632, 1661-62
T
Tomas Tann Churchwarden 1634
William Tann/Tanne Churchwarden 1616, 1619, 1622, 1624
William Tooke Churchwarden 1648
W
William Watson? Churchwarden 1635
William Wilchin Churchwarden 1635
Thomas Wenn Churchwarden 1685-86
Y
John Youngman Churchwarden 1631

 


[End of Document]


Notes

  • Churchwarden entries stop in 1769.
  • Only one later Churchwarden (up to 1848) has been noted in the later available records. This is "Thomas B Beevor" from 1836-42 in the Churchwardens' and Overseers' (combined) accounts book for 1836-1876.
  • Francis Blomefield (Author of "Blomefield's History of Norfolk") moved in 1730 to become Rector of Fersfield in Suffolk.

See also the Hargham parish page.

These pages are for personal use only. They may not be copied, and the links within them may not be harvested for use on your own web pages. Please see the Copyright Notice.

Copyright © Mike Bristow.
December 2015