Hide
Hedenham
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"HEDENHAM, 3 miles N.N.W. of Bungay, and 11 miles S.S.E. of Norwich, has in its parish 272 souls, and about 1,564A. of land. Lord Boston and F.W. Irby, Esq., are lords of the manors, but a great part of the soil belongs to J. J. Bedingfield, Esq., J.W. Gooch, Esq., and a few smaller owners. The hall has been long unoccupied. At the Mermaid Inn is a beautiful Rosary of three acres, highly celebrated for supplying the most valuable varieties. The CHURCH (St. Mary,) is a discharged rectory, valued in K.B. at £13 6s. 8d., and now having 30A. of glebe, and a yearly rent of £450, awarded in 1839, in lieu of tithes. J. J. Bedingfield, Esq., is patron, and the Rev. John Peter Chambers, incumbent." [William White, History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk (1845) - Transcription copyright © Mike Bristow]
Hide
The name may also be spelled Heddenham.
Hide
- 1841
- 1891: Surname List (this is a link to an archived copy)
See also Norfolk Parish Links: Censuses
- In 1883 the parish was in the Deanery of Brooke, in the archdeaconry of Norfolk.
It could have been in a different deanery or archdeaconry both before and after this date. - The parish church is dedicated to St Peter in some records, and to the Virgin Mary in others.
- Church of St Peter
- Description, services, picture, etc.
- Church of St Peter
- Description and pictures.
- Church of St Peter
- Services, etc.
- Church of St Peter.
- Picture of the church.
- Parish Registers
- List of Surnames of People who come from other Parishes
(these people are often known as "Strays") - Marriages 1559-1812
- See Phillimore's Marriage Registers, Volume 4.
- Marriages
- These are included in Boyd's Marriage Index.
- Extracts from the parish registers
- Legacy given by Elizabeth Richman in 1583.
See also Norfolk Parish Links: Church Records
For the civil registration of births, marriages and deaths between 1837 and 1930 (and for the censuses from 1851 to 1901), Hedenham was in Loddon and Clavering Registration District.
- 1845: White's History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk
- 1864: White's History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk
- 1883: White's History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk
- 1883: Kelly's Directory for Cambridgeshire, Norfolk and Suffolk (this is a link to an archived copy)
See also Norfolk Parish Links: Directories
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Hedenham to another place.
Hedenham is in Loddon Hundred.
- Parish outline and location.
- See Parish Map for Loddon Hundred
- Description of Loddon Hundred
- 1845: White's History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk
- Paget, Arthur Gordon Westwood
- A short guide to the Church and Parish of Hedenham, Norfolk.
[Bungay, H.W. Short, 1936]
- Great Britain. Inclosure Commissioners
- Statement of claims: Earsham, Ditchingham and Hedenham.
Drawn up in pursuance of the Act of Inclosure, 1812.
[London, Luke Hansard and Sons, printers, 1812] - Great Britain: Statute
- Earsham, Ditchingham and Hedenham Inclosure Act, 1812.
An act for inclosing lands in the parishes of Earsham, Ditchingham, and Edenham [Hedenham], in the county of Norfolk: 20th March 1812.
[London, Luke Hansard and Sons, printers, 1812]
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TM312933 (Lat/Lon: 52.488477, 1.404232), Hedenham which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- After 1834 Hedenham became part of the Loddon and Clavering Union, and the workhouse was at Heckingham.
- Charities
Summary published by Zachary Clark in 1811
These figures are from the population tables which were produced after the 10-yearly national censuses. The "Families" heading includes families and single occupiers.
|
|
There may be more people living in detached parts of the parish (if there were any) and, if so, the number may or may not be included in the figures above. It is quite difficult to be sure from the population tables.