Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Norfolk: Hedenham

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Norfolk: Hedenham

Zachary Clark: Charities belonging to the Poor: 1811

An ACCOUNT
of the different CHARITIES
belonging to THE POOR
of the COUNTY of NORFOLK,
Abridged from the Returns under GILBERT'S ACT,
to the House of Commons in 1786;
and from THE TERRIERS
in the Office of the LORD BISHOP OF NORWICH.
by ZACHARY CLARK.
1811.

Notes:

  • G - (if present) an abridged extract from Gilbert's Returns, 1786
  • T - (if present) an abridged extract from a terrier, with its date
  • GT - (if present) combined abridged extracts from Gilbert's Returns and a terrier.
  • In the original, pounds are shown as "l" so, for example, 60 pounds is shown as "60l." which is not easy to read. In this transcription they are shown as "£" so 60 pounds appears as "£60".
  • The parish of Ellow, in Suffolk, is now spelled Ellough.

[Transcription copyright © Pat Newby]

HEDENHAM.
(LODDON HUNDRED.)

G. - Robert Rickman, of Ellow, in Suffolk, and Robert Smith, of this place, granted by Deed, in 1559, for the benefit of the inhabitants of Hedenham, for the special purpose of easing them in the payment of the tenths and fifteenths when imposed on them, Lands in Hempnall, in this county, now vested in Charles Garneys, Esq. and others; let for £30. per annum, subject to land-tax and repairs. The clear produce is now paid in aid of the Poor's rate. They also at the same time gave two Pieces of Land in Hedenham, for the same purpose. The annual produce 4s. 10d.

A small Piece of Land (upon which stood heretofore sundry cottages called Town-houses) for which a rent of 2s. 6d. is paid to the Town-reeve, and applied as above.

Three Cottages called Town-houses, two of which (by information) were built at the expense of the parish. Of the third no account can be given. The rent of these, when any can be recovered, is applied as before.

By an extract from the Will of Elizabeth Rickman, dated 1583, and copied into the parish register, it appears she left £4. for the purchase of 20 ewes, to be farmed for the benefit of the Poor of this parish for ever; of which legacy no other account remains.

OBSERVATION. - The quantity of land given by Rickman and Smith is not specified, as it should have been, and it is to be feared that the Will of Elizabeth Rickman has not been complied with.


See also the Hedenham parish page and Extracts from the Hedenham parish registers.

These pages are for personal use only. They may not be copied, and the links within them may not be harvested for use on your own web pages. Please see the Copyright Notice.

Copyright © Pat Newby.
April 2010