Hide

Hethersett

hide
Hide

"HETHERSETT, a large, well-built, and pleasant village, on the Wymondham road, 5 miles W.S.W. of Norwich, has in its parish 1138 souls, and 2635 acres of fertile land, belonging to many proprietors, and lying in James Cuddon, Esq.'s manors of Hethersett-Woodhall, Hawkins, Cromwells, and Canteclose, the latter of which had anciently a church (All Saints,) and its site is still called the old churchyard. . . . The Church (St. Remigius,) has a square tower, with a small wooden spire and five bells. On an altar tomb, in the south aisle, are effigies of a knight and lady. Here are also memorials of the Flowerdew, Bokenham, and other families. The rectory of Hethersett-with-Canteclose, valued in the King's Book at £8, and in 1831, at £670, is in the gift of Gonville and Caius College, Cambridge, and incumbency of the Rev. Jeremy Day, M.A. The Wesleyan and Primitive Methodists have each a chapel here." [William White, History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk (1845) - Transcription copyright © Pat Newby]

Hide
topup

Archives & Libraries

Hethersett Archive
Documents held by the archive.
topup

Church Directories

  • In 1883 the parish was in the Deanery of Humbleyard, in the archdeaconry of Norfolk.
    It could have been in a different deanery or archdeaconry both before and after this date.
  • The parish church is dedicated to St Remigius.
    There was also a church dedicated to All Saints.
topup

Church History

Church of St Remigius
Minister, services, events, pictures, etc.
Church of St Remigius
Description, history and pictures.
Church of St Remigius
Description and pictures.
Church of St Remigius
Services, description, picture, etc.
Hethersett Parochial Church Council
Our heritage for over 800 years.
[Hethersett, 1965]
Linnell, Charles Lawrence Scruton
Hethersett Norfolk: The Church of St Remigius and History of the Parish.
[Hethersett, Church of St Remigius]
 
Hethersett Methodist Church
Minister, services, history, pictures, etc.
Methodist Church
Minister, services, picture, etc.
Follow the link to the home page, then search for the church.
Ford, Margaret; and Virgoe, Norma
A Sure Foundation: Two Hundred Years of Hethersett Methodist Church
The history of Methodism in Hethersett.
[2005]
 
Hethersett Independent Reformed Baptist Church
Minister, services, picture, etc.
P.J.F.
Baptists in Hethersett.
[1994]
topup

Church Records

Bishops Transcripts
Baptisms and Burials.
Marriages
These are not included in Boyd's Marriage Index or Phillimore's Marriage Registers.
Extracts from the parish registers
Inoculations in 1795; extract from Mr Wm. Hughes's will; the keeping and contents of registers; and the duty on births, deaths and marriages.

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Church Records

topup

Civil Registration

For the civil registration of births, marriages and deaths between 1837 and 1930 (and for the censuses from 1851 to 1901), Hethersett was in Henstead Registration District.

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Civil Registration

topup

Description & Travel

Hethersett Village
News, events, parish council, description, history, etc.
Many links from this Genuki Norfolk page are direct links into relevant pages on this Hethersett Village site.
Hethersett Society Research Group
The Book of Hethersett: A Norfolk Village.
ISBN 1841142034, Halsgrove Community History Series, 2002]
Hughes, Gwen E.
Hethersett in pictures from the past.
[Wymondham, H.G. Stone and Co. (Printers), 1983]
Austen, Eric
All that I was: a village childhood in the thirties.
[ISBN 1874739072, Norwich, Mousehold Press, 1996]
Richardson, Robert C.
Some fell on stony ground. (Autobiography)
[Wymondham, Geo. R. Reeve, 1978]
Hethersett Early Post Mill
Description.
Hethersett Great Melton Road Post Mill
Description, history and map.
Hethersett Mill Road Post Mill
Description, history and map.

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Hethersett which are provided by:

topup

Directories

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Directories

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

Hethersett is in Humbleyard Hundred.

Parish outline and location.
See Parish Map for Humbleyard Hundred
Description of Humbleyard Hundred
1845: White's History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk

You can see the administrative areas in which Hethersett has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Hethersett History
Brief History (Hethersett Herald website).
Hethersett History Project.
Hethersett Society
Hethersett Heritage: a history, including the buildings and occupants over the centuries.
[Hethersett Society, 2004]
Buildings featured in the booklet.
Hughes, Gwen E.
Hethersett: two hundred years of change.
[Hethersett Society, Wymondham, H.G. Stone, 1983]
Hughes, Gwen E.
Selections from Hethersett History.
[Hethersett Amenity Society, 1977]
topup

Land & Property

Hethersett Hall
Description and history.
Pratt, Blanche
Hethersett Hall: A peep into the past.
[The Author, 1997]
Wood Hall
Description and history.
Longcroft, Adam
Wood Hall, Hethersett: an historical survey.
[ISBN 1873676913, Norwich, Marwood Publishing, 1995]
Arnall, D.C. and Rose, Edwin
History of Myrtle Cottage, Lynch Green, Hethersett, Norfolk.
[Norfolk Landscape Archaeology Unit, 1994]
Great Britain: Statute
Hethersett Inclosure Act, 1798.
An act for dividing, allotting, and enclosing, the common fields, commons, commonable lands, and waste grounds, within the parish of Hethersett, in the county of Norfolk.
[1798]

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Land and Property

topup

Maps

Map of Hethersett
Coloured map, with sketches of listed buildings.
Based on 1905 OS Map at 25 inches/mile, showing the development of the village up to the 1980s.
[Hethersett Society, 2000]

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TG152050 (Lat/Lon: 52.599763, 1.176738), Hethersett which are provided by:

topup

Military Records

topup

Names, Personal

De Salis
Memoirs of Frederick August Ludowig Buchholtz De Salis.
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

topup

Population

These figures are from the population tables which were produced after the 10-yearly national censuses. The "Families" heading includes families and single occupiers.

Year  Inhabited
Houses
FamiliesPopulation
1801  90150  696
1811  94159  692
1821183186  927
18312192341080
1841246---1138
1851264---1209
Year  Inhabited
Houses
FamiliesPopulation
1861268---1169
18712722801170
18812682701123
18912742741134
19012682681072
1911---2781093

There may be more people living in detached parts of the parish (if there were any) and, if so, the number may or may not be included in the figures above. It is quite difficult to be sure from the population tables.

1901 Census
"Including Lynch Green."
topup

Schools

Hethersett School
History of the National School.
Hethersett School in 1900
Entries from the school log books.