Occupations: Church


Sextons and Vergers, from Kelly's 1900 Directory of Norfolk

A church lay officer, whose duties include the digging of graves, the care of the churchyard, and often the care, cleaning, etc, of the church building, church vessels and vestments.
An attendant in church, whose duties include carrying a mace before church dignitaries, and often the care of the interior of the church building.

Note that in this directory, only 130 places had a sexton or verger shown. This does not necessarily mean that all the other places did not have a person undertaking either role, simply that no one was shown by name.

There were two lady sextons, at Frenze and Rackheath.

Copyright © Pat Newby
May 1999.

Sextons and Vergers from Kelly's 1900 Directory of Norfolk

This list was extracted by (and is copyright ©) Richard Johns

 Mayes      Herbert       Fundenhall
 Temple     William       Sandringham
 Sexton and Verger
 Baker      William       Deopham
 Aldis      George        Framingham Earl
 Alison     Arthur        Scarning
 Allard     Edward        Trimingham
 Bailey     William       Hethel
 Banham     Edward        Caston
 Banham     Frederick     Newton Flotman
 Barber     Alfred        Hales
 Bardwell   Thomas        Poringland
 Baxter     Benjamin      Limpenhoe
 Bidewell   George        Carleton Forehoe
 Bird       Edward        Stanfield
 Blackwood  William       Wiveton
 Bloomfield Walter        Garboldisham
 Blyth      Frederick     Wramplingham
 Bobbin     Robert        Great Ringstead
 Boldry     Harry John    Methwold
 Browne     Thomas        Fundenhall
 Brunson    John          Ridlington
 Bunn       James         Quidenham
 Bunn       James         East Wretham
 Burrows    George        Felthorpe
 Burton     Charles       Crostwight
 Bush       Charles       Wroxham
 Bywater    James         Fincham
 Cable      Benjamin      Aylmerton
 Canham     Joseph        Swanton Morley
 Carter     David         Wiggenhall St. Germans
 Chilver    Enoch         Roydon
 Chilver    Frederick     Thorpe Abbotts
 Clark      George        Cley
 Clarke     William       Kenninghall
 Clarke     Nathan        Mundesley
 Cook       William       Besthorpe
 Cook       John          Threxton
 Cooke      William       Bramerton
 Crane      Mrs.          Rackheath
 Cross      James         Rockland
 Cross      James         Stoke Ferry
 Cross      Lacy          Yaxham
 Crowe      Henry         Gresham
 Deary      Herbert       Sea Palling
 Deary      Herbert       Waxham
 Digby      William James Buxton
 Dixon      Robert        Trunch
 Doe        George        Illington
 Dowling    William       Harleston
 Ducker     James         Shereford
 Duffield   Charles       Kelling
 Duffield   James         Tottenhill
 Dye        John          Mileham
 Eastoll    John          Hapton
 Eavis      John          Blo' Norton
 Ellis      Oliver        Thurton
 Embling    James         Wiggenhall St. Mary
 Emerson    George        Fulmodeston and Croxton
 Emms       Frederick     Dereham
 Ferguson   Alfred        Hilgay
 Francis    John          Attleborough
 Frohawk    Francis       Holme
 Frosdick   Moses         Framingham Pigot
 Fuller     James         Cockley Cley
 Gladden    Alfred S.     Salle
 Goldhawke  James         Reymerston
 Gooderham  George        Sedgeford
 Gray       Foster        Swanton Abbot
 Green      John          Filby
 Greengrass George        Burgh St. Peter
 Grimes     Charles       Sharrington
 Groom      George        Sculthorpe
 Grower     James         Tunstead
 Hall       Walter        Hockering
 Hanton     William       Snetterton
 Head       Robert        Geldeston
 Head       William       West Lexham
 Hill       Edwin         Kettlestone
 Holmes     William       Acle
 Howard     William       Thornham
 Ireson     William       Sparham
 Kent       William       Wiggenhall St. Mary Virgin
 Kisby      James         Outwell
 Leeder     William       Thelveton
 Maidstone  George        Great Plumstead
 Manser     George        Tibenham
 Marsters   Matthew       South Wootton
 Martin     Martin        Flordon
 Mitchell   Arthur        Reveningham
 Neal       George        Downham
 Neal       Henry         Letheringsett
 Neale      Edward        Heydon
 Neale      George        Wood Dalling
 Neve       Jonathan      Runhall
 Neve       Oliver        Welborne
 Newell     Stephen       North Tuddenham
 Norman     George        Bedingham
 Olley      William C.    Barney
 Page       James         Ovington
 Page       Mayes         Watlington
 Palmer     George        Runham
 Pardon     Robert        Lingwood
 Paul       James         Hellesdon
 Peck       Edward        Stody
 Plummer    Christopher   Postwick
 Read       James         Tunstall
 Reeve      Robert        Oxborough
 Reeve      Mrs. Jane     Frenze
 Roope      William       Pulham St. Mary
 Rush       John          Warham St. Mary
 Sampson    Stephen       Hedenham
 Sare       John          Hingham
 Scott      William       Burlingham St. Edmund
 Scott      Arthur        Terrington St. John
 Secker     William       Harling
 Secker     Thomas        Holme Hale
 Skillings  E.            Baconsthorpe
 Smith      Charles       Boughton
 South      George        Thwaite St. Mary
 Sutton     Sidney        Brundall
 Sutton     Henry         Weasenham St. Peter
 Thurston   Joseph        Cranworth
 Timbers    George        Witton
 Walpole    Robert        Thrigby
 Ward       Aaron Edward  Panxworth
 Wiley      Francis       Edingthorpe
 Winterton  Salathiel     Terrington St. Clement
 Wright     John William  Emneth
 Wright     Walter        Waterden
 Yeoman     George        Surlingham