Norfolk: Great Plumstead
William White's History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk 1845[Transcription copyright © Pat Newby]
PLUMSTEAD, (GREAT) 5 miles E. of Norwich, has in its parish 307 souls, and 1383 acres of fertile land, mostly arable. Joseph Muskett, Esq., owns a great part of the soil, and is lord of the manor of Plumstead; but here are several copyholds of the manor of Thorpe.
The Church (St. Mary,) has a brick tower, erected in 1711. The living is a perpetual curacy, certified at £16, and valued in 1831 at £70. It was augmented from 1764 to 1817, with £600 of Queen Anne's Bounty, laid out in land. The Rev. Edward Cole is the incumbent, and the Dean and Chapter of Norwich are the patrons and appropriators, but the tithes are leased to J. Muskett, Esq. The Church Land is 5A.
The Fuel Allotment, 29A. 3R. 5P., awarded at the enclosure in 1811, is let for £30, which is distributed in coals.
Atter Robt. gardener Boast Robert shopkeeper Cole Rev. E. Chenery Robt. machine maker Clarke Jonth. shoemaker Campbell Alex. Fras., Esq. Gooch Thomas joiner [see note below] George Wm. joiner [see note below] Lond Thomas vict., Hare Sutton Fras. farrier and smith Ward John vict., Honest Man farmers Abigail John (owner) Goose Wm. Hambleton John King Randall Meek Miles Maidstone Robert (owner) Pearce Daniel and Edw. Scott Ruth Tills John
Note: in the original this is:
Thomas Gooch and Wm. George, joiners
See also the Great Plumstead parish page.
These pages are for personal use only. They may not be copied, and the links within them may not be harvested for use on your own web pages. Please see the Copyright Notice.
Copyright © Pat Newby.