Norfolk Poor Law before 1834


Aldborough Gilbert Union

This included the parishes of Aldborough, Aylmerton, Beeston Regis, Cromer, East Beckham, Felbrigg, Gresham, Runton and Sheringham

Union history

  • 1782 - Gilbert's Act allowed parishes to join together and run a workhouse. This was for the old, the sick and the infirm.
  • 1805 - Aldborough Gilbert Union formed containing nine parishes.
    • House of Industry located at Upper Sheringham.
  • 1834 - Erpingham Poor Law Union formed.
    • Aldborough was dissolved.
    • Parishes became part of the Erpingham Union and "House of Industry" became one of 2 Workhouses (the other being at Gimingham) for new Union.
  • Description is in Whites 1845 directory.

After 1834 these parishes moved as shown :-

Places 1834 Union or
Aldborough Erpingham
Aylmerton Erpingham
Beckham, East Erpingham
Beeston Regis Erpingham
Cromer Erpingham
Places 1834 Union or
Felbrigg Erpingham
Gresham Erpingham
Runton Erpingham
Sheringham Erpingham

Further information can be found:

See also the Poor Law page and the Post 1834 Unions page

These pages are for personal use only. They may not be copied, and the links within them may not be harvested for use on your own web pages. Please see the Copyright Notice.

Copyright © Mike Bristow.
March 2010