Norfolk Poor Law before 1834


Gimingham Gilbert Union

This included the parishes of Gimingham, Knapton, Mundesley, North Repps, Overstrand, South Repps, Trimingham and Trunch

Union history

  • 1782 - Gilbert's Act allowed parishes to join together and run a workhouse. This was for the old, the sick and the infirm.
  • 1805 - Gimingham Gilbert Union formed containing eight parishes.
    • House of Industry located at Gimingham.
  • 1834 - Erpingham Poor Law Union formed.
    • Gimingham was dissolved.
    • Parishes became part of the Erpingham Union and "House of Industry" became one of 2 Workhouses (the other being at Sheringham) for new Union.
  • Description is in Whites 1845 directory.

After 1834 these parishes moved as shown :-

Places 1834 Union or
Gimingham Erpingham
Knapton Erpingham
Mundesley Erpingham
North Repps Erpingham
Places 1834 Union or
Overstrand Erpingham
South Repps Erpingham
Trimingham Erpingham
Trunch Erpingham

Further information can be found:

See also the Poor Law page and the Post 1834 Unions page

These pages are for personal use only. They may not be copied, and the links within them may not be harvested for use on your own web pages. Please see the Copyright Notice.

Copyright © Mike Bristow.
March 2010