Norfolk: Poor Law before 1834


Hackford Gilbert Union

This included the parishes of Hackford-by-Reepham, Kerdiston, Reepham and Whitwell

Union history

  • 1782 - Gilbert's Act allowed parishes to join together and run a workhouse. This was for the old, the sick and the infirm.
  • 1808 - Hackford Gilbert Union formed.
    • House of Industry built at Reepham.
  • 1836 - Aylsham Poor Law Union formed.
    • Hackford was dissolved.
    • Parishes became part of the Aylsham Union.
  • Description is in Whites 1845 directory.

After 1834 these parishes moved as shown :-

Places 1834 Union or
Hackford-by-Reepham Aylsham
Kerdiston Aylsham
Places 1834 Union or
Reepham (*) Aylsham
Whitwell Aylsham

(*) indicates a workhouse at this place before it joined the Union. See the Workhouses before 1834 page for further details.

Further information can be found:

See also the Poor Law page and the Post 1834 Unions page

These pages are for personal use only. They may not be copied, and the links within them may not be harvested for use on your own web pages. Please see the Copyright Notice.

Copyright © Mike Bristow.
March 2010