Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Norfolk: Poor Law: Depwade Union

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Norfolk: Poor Law: Depwade Union

List of Workhouse Guardians as 15thApril 1836

The following is a meeting of the Board of Guardians [for the Poor Law Union of Depwade].

The Norfolk Record Office parish document reference is Poor Law C/GP 3/1 and it is also on 16mm microform MF/X 299/9 covering Apr 1836 to May 1838.

It contains the following (but note that more detail may be found in the original for some of the topics and people):-

[Page 1]

15th April 1836

The first meeting of the Board Of Guardians held on Friday the fifteenth day of April 1836. Present Dr Kay Assistant poor law Commissioner.

Names of Parishes Names of Guardians
Ashwellthorpe Thomas Harvey
Aslacton John Wiffen
Bunwell William Burton and Edward Barnard
Carleton-Rode John Hipperson and Edmund Rush
Forncett St. Peter Henry Colman
Forncett St. Mary Robert Jeffries
Fritton Thomas Nash
Fundenhall William Howes
Hapton Thomas Edwards
Hardwick Thomas Redgrave
Hempnall Joseph Cater Webb and Robert Riches
Morningthorpe Alfred Goldworth
Great Moulton Robert Austin
Shelton Samuel Westgate
Long Stratton (St.Mary) John Fryer
Stratton St.Michael Francis Bloy
Tacolnestone Thomas Howes
Tasburgh William Gwyn
Tharston Benjamin Ringer
Tibenham Frederic Holmes
Wacton William Delf
Burston John Green
Diss { Robert Ellis, Samuel Brook,
{ Thomas Barkham, Thomas Wells
{ and John Kidham
Dickleburgh Collin Barrett
Gissing James Hewitt
Scole with Thorpe Parva
and Frenze
John Lynes
Shimpling Charles Cooke
Thelveton Southby Williams
Tivetshall St. Margaret John Holmes
Tivetshall St. Mary Robert Holmes
Alburgh Barnabas Bond
[Page 2]
Billingford James Drake
Brockdish John Doughty
Denton James Wolterton
Earsham Rivers Mayer Drake
Needham Joshua Smith
Pulham St. Mary-the-Virgin Richard Webb
Pulham St. Mary Magdalen
(or Pulham Market)
Henry Kersy and Henry Crickmore
Redenhall with Harleston Richard Priest, John Gidney
and James Aldous
Rushall Searles Pearce
Starston Charles Etheredge
Thorpe Abbotts James Brigham
Wortwell James Hill

The above named Guardians were present at the meeting (except William Gwyn Esquire, Mr James Drake and Mr Doughty).

The following ex-offico Guardians were also present namely
The Honourable Frederick Paul Irby Captn R. N.
Richard Gwyn Esquire
The Reverend Thomas Howes
The Reverend Archdeacon Oldershaw
The Reverend Wm P Spencer
The Reverend Wm Manning
Thomas Havers Esqre

Election of Chairman of the Board.

The Hon(ora)ble Captain Irby was proposed by Richard Gwyn Esqre
Seconded by Mr Priest
The Hon(ora)ble Captain Irby is elected.

Election of Vice-Chairman
Mr Charles Etheredge proposed by the Revd Thomas Howes
Seconded by Archdeacon Oldershaw
Mr William Gwyn proposed by Mr Thomas Edwards
Seconded by Mr Alfred Goldworth

For Mr Etheredge 22 votes
For Mr Gwyn 26 votes

Mr William Gwyn is elected Vice Chairman
The meetings to be held weekly on every Friday at 10 o'Clock A.M.

[Page 3]
Election of Clerk

[Candidate] Votes
Mr Thomas Colman 10
Mr John Hotson 34
Mr William Crickmore 9

Mr John Hotson, Attorney, Long Stratton elected.


[Candidate] Votes
Mr Robert Fincham 11
House of Gurneys 21
Mr George Carthew 19

Treasurer given security of £3000
Messr Gurney Turners Brightwen & Lloyd Bankers, Harleston elected.

[The Union was then split into districts.]

Forncett district 4886
Stratton 6021
Diss 6707
Harleston 6073


[Page 4]

Forncett District
Ashwellthorpe Aslacton
Fundenhall Forncett St. Peter
Tacolnestone Forncett St. Mary
Bunwell Hapton
Carleton-Rode (Great) Moulton


Stratton District
Tharston Shelton
Wacton Hardwick
Tasburgh Fritton
Stratton St. Michael Hempnall
Stratton St. Mary Pulham St. Mary Magdalen
Morningthorpe Pulham St. Mary-the-Virgin
Diss District
Tivetshall St. Margaret Diss
Tivetshall St. Mary Scole with Thorpe Parva
and Frenze
Gissing Thelveton
Burston Dickleburgh with Langmere
Shimpling Billingford
Harleston District
Alburgh Redenhall with Harleston
Brockdish Rushall
Denton Starston
Earsham Thorpe Abbotts
Needham Wortwell

[Page 5]
Medical and Relieving Officers to be appointed at next meeting.

Contracts for flour were considered along with other business.

Place of Meeting
Mr Priest proposed "The Crown" - Pulham St. Mary Magdalen
Richard Gwyn proposed "The Swan" - Long Stratton - defeated on a vote.

[Page 10]
Election of Medical officers
Election of Relieving officers
John Crawley - Camberwell Road, London
[Page 12]
Sponsors for Relieving officers and votes for 4 appointed.
[Page 13]
Flour Tenders - names.
[Page 14]
Mr Neave landlord of "The Crown" - use of room and stabling.
[Page 15] (Note more info on originals for all following people)
6th May Meeting minutes.
Names - John Royal - Ashwellthorpe - Wife and six children.
John Pitcher - Ashwellthorpe - Wife and five children.
Richard Browne - Ashwellthorpe - ...
James Long - Ashwellthorpe
William Richmond - Ashwellthorpe
[Page 16]
Mary Baldry - Ashwellthorpe
Robert Elliott - Ashwellthorpe
Jeffry Squire - Ashwellthorpe
John Howes Junr. - Ashwellthorpe
William Howlett - Ashwellthorpe
Gregory Howes - Ashwellthorpe
Charlotte Howes - Ashwellthorpe
William Ward - Ashwellthorpe
Jeremiah Cooper - Ashwellthorpe
Mary Ann Abel - Ashwellthorpe
Robert Hemblington - Ashwellthorpe
Henry Smith - Ashwellthorpe
Wm Haythorpe - Ashwellthorpe
Non-resident Paupers
Widow Bicton/Beeton? - Wymondham
Widow Barrett - Wreningham
[Page 17]
Widow Beckett Gt Yarmouth
James Tillett - Norwich
John Welton - Wymondham
Widow Hartley/Wortley? - Norwich
Widow Baldry - Fundenhall
Rudlings Wife - Wymondham
Phoebe Baxter - Fundenhall
Timothy Parker - Wymondham
Jemina Balls - Wymondham
Hannah Clarke - Dickleburgh
Rebecca Hutson's Child - Suppon_? at? Gissing
Julia Wiseman - Ashwellthorpe


  • Many of the names are trades people eg. farmers and will be found in Whites Directory for 1836 and 1845.

See also the main Depwade Poor Law Union page.

These pages are for personal use only. They may not be copied, and the links within them may not be harvested for use on your own web pages. Please see the Copyright Notice.

Copyright © Mike Bristow.
May 2011