Hide

Runton

hide
Hide

"RUNTON parish, on the sea coast, from one to two miles W. of Cromer, comprises the small villages of East and West Runton, (the former a fishing station,) 424 inhabitants, and 1253A. of land, belonging to various owners, and lying in the manors of Runton-Hayes, (W.H. Windham, Esq.'s,) Runton-Stubbs, Beeston-Priory, East Beckham, Felbrigg, Aylmerton, and Gresham. The Church (Trinity,) is a discharged rectory, valued in the King's Book at £10, and consolidated with that of Aylmerton. . . . The glebe here is 19A. 2R., and the tithes were commuted in 1838 for £245 per annum. Sir E.N. Buxton, Bart., has a neat house . . . here. " [William White History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk (1845) - Transcription copyright © Pat Newby]

Hide

See also Gunton.

Hide
topup

Cemeteries

The Monumental Inscriptions in the Hundred of North Erpingham (Walter Rye).
The parishes covered include Runton.
See Trunch

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Cemeteries

topup

Church Directories

  • In 1883 the parish was in the Deanery of Repps, in the archdeaconry of Norfolk.
    It could have been in a different deanery or archdeaconry both before and after this date.
  • The parish church is dedicated to the Holy Trinity, and is located in West Runton.
    There is also a church in East Runton, which is dedicated to St Andrew.
topup

Church History

Church of the Holy Trinity at West Runton
Description and pictures.
Church of the Holy Trinity at West Runton
Location, events, etc.
Matthews, F.H. and Creasey, John
Runton Parish Church of the Holy Trinity - a Brief History.
[1967]
 
Church of St Andrew at East Runton
Description and pictures.
Church of St Andrew at East Runton
Location, etc.
 
East Runton Methodist Church
Minister, services, picture, etc.
Follow the link to the home page, then search for the church.
West Runton Methodist Church
Minister, services, picture, etc.
Follow the link to the home page, then search for the church.
topup

Church Records

Parish Register Transcripts
Baptisms 1813-1880
Marriages
These are not included in Boyd's Marriage Index or Phillimore's Marriage Registers.

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Church Records

topup

Civil Registration

For the civil registration of births, marriages and deaths between 1837 and 1930 (and for the censuses from 1851 to 1901), Runton was in Erpingham Registration District.

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Civil Registration

topup

Description & Travel

East and West Runton
Parish council, churches, organisations, etc.
East and West Runton
Pictures, map, 1851 census, etc
Knights, Mark
The illustrated guide to Cromer and neighbourhood: including Runton, Sherringham, Overstrand, Sidestrand, Mundesley, Northrepps, Bacton, Bromholm, and the Broads; revised to the present time by Mark Knights.
[London, Jarrold, 1880s]
East Runton Mill
Description, history and pictures.

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Runton which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

Runton is in North Erpingham Hundred.

Parish outline and location.
See Parish Map for North Erpingham Hundred
Description of North Erpingham Hundred
1845: White's History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk

You can see the administrative areas in which Runton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Davey, Norman
Pottery Kilns at East Runton, Norfolk.
[Norwich, Norfolk and Norwich Archaeological Society, in "Norfolk Archaeology" vol.27, 1941]
Leake, G.F.
East and West Runton - Two Villages, One Parish.
[ISBN 0946148759, Cromer, Poppyland Publishing, 2006]
Leake, G.F.
The Commons of East and West Runton, a brief history.
[Norwich, Norfolk County Council, Runton Commons Management Group, 1990s]
Leake, G.F.
An Undated Field Book relating to Runton, Norfolk.
Fifteenth and sixteenth century tenants, field names, manors, etc.
[Cambridge University, Dissertation, Certificate in Local Studies, 1977]
Rye, Walter
Notes on Runton, Norfolk - parish registers, the church, charities, etc.
[Norwich, Samuel Miller, in "Norfolk Antiquarian Miscellany" vol.1, part.2, 1877]
topup

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TG194420 (Lat/Lon: 52.930611, 1.262741), Runton which are provided by:

topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

topup

Schools

Kilvert, Muriel Leigh
The History of Runton Hill School, 1911-1977.
[Waveney Print, 1990s]