Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Great Snoring

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Great Snoring

Primary tabs

"SNORING, (GREAT) a parish and considerable village, 2 miles S. of Walsingham, and 3½ miles N.E. by N. of Fakenham, contains about 1,600 acres of land, belonging to several proprietors, -- the largest of whom is John Dugmore, Esq., of Swaffham, the lord of the manor, . . . The ancient lords were the Burgolyons, Sheltons, and Richardsons. It had 556 inhabitants, in 1841, including 81 in Walsingham Union Workhouse, . . . The CHURCH (Virgin Mary,) has a fine tower . . . it has some ancient stone stalls, and the effigies of Sir Richard Shelton and his lady, beautifully engraved in brass. The Sheltons built the rectory-house, . . . The rectory, valued in the King's Book at £24 has 36A. of glebe, and is consolidated with Thursford, in the patronage of St. John's College, Cambridge, and incumbency of the Rev. Cphr. Stannard, B.D., who is lord of a small manor, called Snorings, (fines certain.) The joint livings were valued in 1831 at £610 per annum; and the tithes were commuted in 1840." [William White History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk (1845) - Transcription copyright © Paul Beesley]

See also Little Snoring.

topup
topup
topup

Church Directories

  • In 1883 the parish was in the Deanery of Walsingham, in the archdeaconry of Norwich.
    It could have been in a different deanery or archdeaconry both before and after this date.
  • The parish church is dedicated to the Virgin Mary.
topup

Church History

Church of the Virgin Mary
Description and pictures.
topup

Church Records

Marriages 1560-1837
See Phillimore's Marriage Registers, Volume 6.
Marriages 1560-1902
From parish registers.
Marriages
 
Marriages
These are included in Boyd's Marriage Index.

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Church Records

topup

Civil Registration

For the civil registration of births, marriages and deaths between 1837 and 1930 (and for the censuses from 1851 to 1901), Great Snoring was in Walsingham Registration District.

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Civil Registration

topup

Description and Travel

Great Snoring and Little Snoring
Description, history, pictures, maps, churches, censuses, parish records, etc.
Great Snoring Post Mill
Description, history and pictures.

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Great Snoring which are provided by:

topup
topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Great Snoring to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

Great Snoring is in North Greenhoe Hundred.

Parish outline and location.
See Parish Map for North Greenhoe Hundred
Description of North Greenhoe Hundred
1845: White's History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk

You can see the administrative areas in which Great Snoring has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup
topup
topup
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

After 1834 Great Snoring became part of the Walsingham Union, and the workhouse was in this parish.

Walsingham Union
Parishes in the union, their arrangements for the poor before 1834, etc.
Walsingham Union and Workhouse
Description from White's Directory of Norfolk, 1845.
Walsingham Union and Workhouse
Description and pictures.
Walsingham Union and Workhouse
Description, pictures, minutes, residents, etc.
topup