William White's History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk 1845
[Transcription copyright © Pat Newby]
TAVERHAM, the small village which gives name to this hundred, is situated on the north bank of the Wensum, commanding a fine view of the vale, and distant 5½ miles N.W. of Norwich. The parish contains 211 inhabitants, and 2021A. of land, with extensive plantations, partly surrounding the large lawn and picturesque mansion of Nathaniel Micklethwait, Esq., the principal owner of the soil, and lord of the manor of Taverham Hall; but part of the parish is in the Bishop's manor of Drayton. The copyholds in the latter are on fine certain, and in the former arbitrary.
In the village is a large paper mill.
The old church was destroyed by lightning in 1458. The present CHURCH (St. Edmund,) is a rectory, valued in the King's Book at £8. 5s. 5d., and now possessing 42 acres of glebe, and a yearly rent of £310 awarded in 1844, in lieu of tithes. The Rev. John Surtees is the incumbent, and the Bishop of Norwich, patron.
Brown Mary beer seller
Milbourn paper makers
Micklethwait N., Esq. Hall
Peel Robert shopkeeper
Pratt Samuel farmer
Punt Samuel farmer
Taylor Robert joiner
See also the Taverham parish page.
These pages are for personal use only. They may not be copied, and the links within them may not be harvested for use on your own web pages. Please see the Copyright Notice.
Copyright © Pat Newby.